Confuzzledom

Just a place for me to gather my thoughts


Leave a comment

Oh what a night!

Who remembers that song? Obviously I’m too young for the original, but a cover version of it came out when I was in my teens.

So yesterday was incredibly sad. When I arrived the first thing P, my colleague, said to me was “The last morning that you’ll come in like that.” Then Cee, an English speaking colleague, sent me an email asking me to do a proofread. The message started with “last day…”. Sooo sad!
Later, after lunch, I had to send an email round to all the branches letting everyone know I was leaving. Some of the responses I got were so sweet I’m surprised I didn’t cry. One person said I have to come to the next meeting of the southern branches, another invited me to join them at the next Christmas meal. One guy even phoned me to say goodbye.  So nice and yet so, so sad.

At about 10:30 the colleagues from the Karlsruhe branch came in to give me a card. Inside it said that they wanted to take me for a meal after work as a leaving present. So after finishing work and handing back the key (*sniff*) I headed home for a quick shower and a change of clothes. Because one of my colleagues works until 7 we weren’t meeting til then, which gave me an hour to sort myself. It was so hot yesterday that, after showering and getting changed, I stood in the corridor of my student residence talking to someone and could feel myself getting sticky again. And I wasn’t even moving!

At quarter to 7 I headed back to work and met the others, P, Ju and F. We went to El Taquito, a Mexican restaurant in Karlsruhe. I’d only eaten there once before but I used to go there a lot for the cocktails – Friday and Saturday nights from midnight til 2am all cocktails are half price! Last night was not cocktail night though, but eating night. I had mixed tacos, which was three tacos with different fillings. One chicken, one that seemed to be beef mince and one pork (I think). It came with guacamole, sour cream, refried beans… the usual stuff. And I ordered a portion of Mexican potatoes (potatoes with cheddar cheese) to go with them. The food was amazing and I had a really good time. After 9pm all cocktails were only 4 euros 50, so we all had a cocktail. They’re huge, but very nice! All in all a brilliant night, despite the sad occasion that prompted it.

Jan called me at 8:30 to tell me he wouldn’t be coming over because he’d gone home from work with a headache. He asked me to come over to his instead, but warned me that I would have to get up early becasue he had a doctor’s appointment and would be leaving the house at 7:30am. Obviously I had to go after he came to look after me at stupid o’clock in the morning when I had sunstroke (and obviously I wanted to see him as well. I’m not entirely unselfish you know ;-) ). This meant I had to go home after the meal, get some stuff together, then head to Europaplatz to get a tram to Jan’s place. Such a carry on! It was after midnight when I finally got to bed and Jan woke me up at 7:25am telling me he had to leave in 5 minutes. No time for a shower! It’s now 8:50am and I’m at my place debating whether to have a shower now or go back to bed for a few hours then have shower. Decisions, decisions…

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 487 other followers