Confuzzledom

Just a place for me to gather my thoughts


6 Comments

Under attack!

For many years there were only two types of moth in my world. The big scary ones that like to attack unsuspecting people who dare to have the light on and the window open at the same time and those (presumably quite small) ones that like to eat clothes and are the reason people in old books smell of moth balls. Nobody in modern books ever seems to use moth balls, and I’ve never met anyone in real life who does either. Have clothes moths become extinct maybe? Or does everything we wear have built in moth protection these days? … Anyway, as I was saying… two types of moth…. Well, here in Germany I’ve discovered a new kind of moth. This kind lives wherever food is stored and likes to attack dry foods, like flour, sugar, rice… If you come into the kitchen to find your rice all stuck together and something that looks slightly like cobwebs around the top of the box you’ve probably got food moths. Either that or a spider has decided to make its home in your cupboard. The only solution to food moths is to keep anything that might attract them in moth proof containers. Tupperware tubs are good for this. Washed out icecream tubs work too.

My floor is currently infested with these moths. No idea where they’re coming from, but they’re there. So last night I went into my kitchen in search of food. I opened the cupboard and whoosh – two little moths came flying towards my cupboard at the speed of light. Aarrggh! Instantly going into panic mode, I slammed the cupboard door and ran to the middle of the kitchen where they couldn’t get me. The idea of a moth, even a little food one, touching me is terrifying! Miraculously I had actually managed to shut the cupboard door in time, so instead of going in the moths were hovering round the door, probably making plans to creep in through some tiny gap next to the hinges while I wasn’t looking. Well, I wasn’t going to let them do that, was I? So I grabbed a newspaper from the table and went on a moth killing spree. WHACK! Take that you evil, scary creature! BASH! Get away from my foooood! WALLOP! Die beast, die!

And now every time I look in my cupboard I expect to see Moths 2 – The Revenge. That’s the one where all the friends and relatives of the moths I killed try to avenge their deaths by invading my cupboard and flying out at me in huge clouds next time I go to make food. *Shudder* I’m doooomed. Doooomed I tell you, doooooooomed!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 501 other followers