Confuzzledom

Just a place for me to gather my thoughts

Trolley watching

5 Comments

I always think what people put in their shopping trolleys (or baskets) can tell you quite a lot about them.

- The little old lady with a basket full of chocolate and fizzy pop probably has the grandkids coming to stay
– Young man with a trolley full of frozen pizzas, tins of soup and microwave meals. I bet he’s a student.
– See that woman pushing round a trolley that’s full to the brim – a whole crate of apples, three cartons of milk and the largest bag of potatoes available? She’s clearly got a big family at home waiting to be fed.

So what does my shopping trolley tell people about me?
Well, most days I look like the classic young, single girl on my road to being a career woman. There I am with my half loaf of bread (because I’ll never finish a normal sized one all by myself), three tomatoes, a couple of yoghurts  and the smallest packet of meat I can find – that’s right, the one that contains exactly two pork fillets which look totally lost on their huge polystyrene tray. Just about enough for a busy girl to feed herself on for a couple of days without it going mouldy while she’s occupied with something else.

Then there are the lonely and depressed days. Those are the ones where I’ve had a crappy day at work and can’t be bothered to do anything, so I fill my trolley with crisps and chocolate bars and a couple of those knorr mashed potato things that you just add water to. On days like this nobody glancing into my trolley would either think I’d just been dumped or was depressed about not being able to get a boyfriend. Why? Well we all know chocolate and crisps are the ultimate just been dumped comfort foods…

And finally, roughly once a week, my trolley reveals me as one half of a happy young couple. Those are the days that I know Jan is coming over, so I can actually buy enough food to feed two people without having to either leave half of it or stick it in a tupperware tub for the next day’s lunch. Those are the days that my trolley contains mince or salmon, or maybe even some crispy duck. Something nice that I know the boyfriend will enjoy. If I’m feeling really decadent I might even throw in a bottle of wine and some posh icecream.

So what does your shopping trolley say about you?

Author: bevchen

No longer twenty-something, but still unmarried and unchildrened, English girl currently living in Germany. I work at a translation company and am slightly obsessed with books and travel. I also cross stitch.

5 thoughts on “Trolley watching

  1. I really liked this post! :)

    Firstly, don’t you have a freezer (or a shelf of one)? Really helps with the whole shopping thing! Our new apartment has one, and I’m so happy – it means we can do a big weekly/fortnightly shop and freeze all the meat, and only have to get bread and milk on a more regular basis.

    Secondly, I want crispy duck. :( Haven’t seen any here. Or bagels. Or baked beans. I did, on the plus side, find some mature English cheddar in a posh supermarket that must be the Estonian equivalent of Marks and Spencer. Yay!

    And thirdly. I want to answer your question, but I feel I may need to steal your idea and do a whole post about it. Hope that’s OK! I liked reading this. I have a weird obsession with supermarkets and other people’s shopping…!

  2. I once got stuck behind a man in Spar who had eight, eight packets of lard in his trolley. I dread to think what that said about him. There was nothing else either, no redeeming bakeware etc. Just the lard. Hideous.

    Today my shopping trolley says I managed to get my food delivered from Waitrose! Hoorah!

  3. I dread shopping all the time, mine just screams single male. Especially when I buy some super noodles for when I can’t be bothered to cook anything. There is never anything of any substance in there. Although I’ve never bought anything which ‘serves one’ thankfully!

  4. Hails – We have a big chest freezer. Everyone is allowed one cloth bag to place in said freezer. It’s rather bizarre!
    I haven’t found bagels here either, although there is a bagel cafe and they must buy theirs from somewhere. Apparantly not any of the places I shop though. We do however have (incredibly expensive) cheddar cheese and baked beans. Bizarrely Heinz are the cheapest?!? (But still expensive).
    Aaand, feel free to steal away.

    Katy – that is just incredibly wrong. I may have been forced to leave the queue and come back later at that point. Also I think you have the right idea. If only I wasn’t at work all day I might try going the home delievery route too.

    Cynical Scribble – I love supernoodels! Can’t get ‘em here though. They only have instant Asian noodles in weird flavours like spicy pork. It’s just not the same.

  5. Pingback: I *do* like sprouts! « Coffee Helps

Leave a comment so I know you stopped by!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 483 other followers