Confuzzledom

Just a place for me to gather my thoughts

Sleepy, sleepy… wide awake!

1 Comment

Don’t you hate it when you’re so sleepy all evening that you have the feeling you could drop off at any minute then, as soon as bedtime comes around, sleep suddenly seems to be the last thing your body wants? That was me last night! I had been tired all day and had already decided to get an early night. So when I sat down on the sofa and immediately felt my eyes trying to close I realised it was time to put the plan into action. 15 minutes later, I had brushed my teeth, put on my pyjamas and was ready to snuggle up under the quilt. I got into bed, switched off the light and BAM! It was as if the action of turning off the light had triggered another switch inside me, except instead of turning off that one had gone to on! I was suddenly wide awake again. After a few minutes of tossing and turning I gave up and decided to read my book. Two pages in, tiredness struck again.. my eyes felt heavy and I wasn’t really taking anything in. So I thought I would try the sleep thing again. Book down, light out… BAM! Wide awake. Obviously there was no point in trying to do anything else, since everything but lying in my bed with the light out made me drowsy, so I had to resign myself to lying there waiting for sleep to come. I’ve no idea when I eventually drifted off, but judging by how difficult it was to get out of bed this morning I obviously didn’t get enough sleep last night! And considering it’s now 8:30 pm, I’ve only just got in and I have a million and one things to do, I won’t be trying for another early night tonight. On the bright side, only one more day of getting up in the dark then it’s the weekend, and I get to spend time with the boyfriend who has been away all week at a conference. Positive thinking! :-)

Author: bevchen

No longer twenty-something, but still unmarried and unchildrened, English girl currently living in Germany. I work at a translation company and am slightly obsessed with books and travel. I also cross stitch.

One thought on “Sleepy, sleepy… wide awake!

  1. Whenever I’m tired, reading usually makes me tired, too. Several times I’ve woken up in the middle of the night to find I’ve fallen asleep with the light on.

Leave a comment so I know you stopped by!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 485 other followers