Confuzzledom

Just a place for me to gather my thoughts

Alright winter, you’ve made your point!

4 Comments

I am sooo sick of being cold!

09 04 03

Photo credit: mattjiggins

In English (or at least in the UK) we have a saying – more like a proverb – “April showers bring May flowers”. The German equivalent is “Der April macht was er will” – April does what it wants (April is pronounced A-prill with an A like in the word “alphabet” and to rhyme with will). I’m starting to think the German version is more accurate. This April certainly has no intention of sticking with one kind of weather! We’ve had dark, threatening clouds, we’ve had fog, we’ve had lots and lots of rain, we’ve had a tiny bit of sun peering from behind the clouds (mostly while I was at work), but what we’ve mostly had is cold. Today the temperature got up to a whole 10°C (Google tells me that’s 50°F, non-European readers), but mostly it’s been somewhere between 5 and 8°C. I’ve had to get my winter coat back out and have been wearing a scarf in bed (oh… I forgot to mention that I’ve had my hair cut and my neck now feels incredibly exposed…. and cold!). Did someone forget to tell the universe that it’s actually spring now? You had your chance winter… April is not your month!

On a brighter note, my team came first in the slightly-delayed-due-to-Easter pub quiz last week. The next one is on 8 May when we shall have a title to defend! We then went out on Friday night to watch our quiz master’s band perform, and got in free in exchange for doing the door for them (taking people’s money) as the person that usually does it couldn’t this time. All together now: “It’s not what you know…”.

Also, Newcastle United are currently fourth in the Premier League and it’s looking more and more likely that they’ll be coming to Europe next year, either in the Europa League (which I only recently found out is what they’re calling the UEFA Cup these days) or the Champions League. Jan and I are actually kind of hoping they end up with an Europa League place, that Stuttgart get one too, and that they happen to play each other. In Stuttgart. So we can travel to Karlsruhe’s greatest rivals, wearing Newcastle shirts and cheer on my football team. Unlikely, but the fact that I can even dream about it shows how far the Toon has come this season.

Life is good. But it would be sooo much better with a bit of spring sunshine!

Author: bevchen

No longer twenty-something, but still unmarried and unchildrened, English girl currently living in Germany. I work at a translation company and am slightly obsessed with books and travel. I also cross stitch.

4 thoughts on “Alright winter, you’ve made your point!

  1. I hear you! I’m sitting here in my kitchen, with the rain teeming down outside. The high temp today was 10º C, and I haven’t been able to put my winter coat away yet either. Maybe May will be a better month for both of us, weather-wise.

  2. It’s supposed to be warm this week! And by “warm,” I mean “seventy degrees and raining.”

    –Tina, who still finds Celsius unnecessarily complicated.

    • And I just had to Google 70 degrees Fahrenheit ;-)
      Celcius makes sense to me… water freezes at 0 and boils at 100. Nice logical numbers. Water freezes at 32°F… but that’s a big number. How can it possibly mean cold?! My brain now hurts…

Leave a comment so I know you stopped by!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 399 other followers