Confuzzledom

Just a place for me to gather my thoughts

Friday letters

3 Comments

Yes, it’s that time of the week again…
When I wrote my first Friday Letters post, I honestly thought it was going to be a one off. But I actually find it a good way to get at least one post in a week without having to put too much thought into it (I may only write my blog for me, but I still hate to neglect it!). And it means I have a sort of record of what I’ve been up to each week. Here are my Friday letters for this week.

Dear cough. I appreciate you allowing my to sleep for a whole five hours in a row last night, but it would be great if, tonight, you could let me fall asleep faster. A whole hour of having to cough every time I was close to drifting off was not fun!

Dear quiz team (who will not actually read this, because they have no idea this blog even exists). I almost didn’t attend on Tuesday thanks to my cold, but I’m glad I did in the end. First place! We rock :-)

Dear whoever invented remote access and stuff like that. It’s thanks to you that I was able to stay at home today and not annoy all my colleagues by constantly coughing at them, yet was still able to do work (a bonus seeing as a) I didn’t feel ill enough to stay in bed and b) lying down actually made the coughing worse! Being able to work saved me from being bored rigid after the first few hours of being home alone). I am also very grateful to my employer for allowing us to actually use such technology. I know plenty of people who couldn’t work from home simply because they would have no way of accessing their company’s system from there!

Dear Germany. Why do you not sell Lemsip? I only have three sachets left and my next trip home won’t be til March! If anyone in Germany has managed to find a Lemsip/Beecham’s powder equivalent please tell me what it’s called! And all those hot lemon etc. powders from DM and the like don’t count! While they do temporarily sooth my throat, they contain nothing even vaguely medicinal. Is a hot drink containing paracetamol and decongestant really too much to ask, Germany?

Dear trees. You looked so pretty today with the sun shining on. Do you think you could stay like that for another week or two, at least until the Christmas markets arrive to bring some colour into the winter. And while I’m at it, perhaps you could also show your face a little more often, Mr Sun? All the rain this week really hasn’t done anything for my mood (or my cold for that matter!).

OK, that’s it. Sorry most of these are about illness, but coughing, sneezing and copious amounts of tea/hot drinks is pretty much what my entire week has been about…

For more Friday letters (hopefully slightly more cheerful ones than mine!) check out: Photobucket

Author: bevchen

No longer twenty-something, but still unmarried and unchildrened, English girl currently living in Germany. I work at a translation company and am slightly obsessed with books and travel. I also cross stitch.

3 thoughts on “Friday letters

  1. Hope you’re starting to feel better! Lemsip doesn’t exist here in spain either – luckilly I hate the stuff, but my ex got used to having it when he lived in England for a year or 2, so when we moved back here I had to bring boxes of it back with me every time I went home to visit! More room for biscuits now though :D

    • I’m not a huge fan of the taste of Lemsip either, but at least it contains actual medicine! The German solution to having a cold is to drink lots of tea/hot drinks containing vitamin C and not much else. I’ve been dutifully doing that for over a week and seen NO improvement, so now I’ve decided it’s time for products that contain actual medicine, not just random herbs! (Would you believe, the throat sweets I bought last week contained sage and vitamin C as their active ingredients. Sage!! That’s a component of stuffing, not a cure for colds. I want paracetamol and decongestant, not flippin’ sage!).

  2. Haha – sage!! Move to Spain, they give you a tonne of medicine for everything here! You know in England, where you’d be told “It’s a virus – man up!” “Rest, take paracetamol and drink lots”, “Keep warm and stay in bed for a day” etc. Nah, here they’ve prescribed you sopme antibiotics before you’ve even told them what’s wrong! And the ibuprofen is like super-strength, none of this 200mg nonsense, it’s 600mg or nothing!

Leave a comment so I know you stopped by!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 395 other followers