Confuzzledom

Just a place for me to gather my thoughts

Merry Christmas! Frohe Weihnachten!

15 Comments

It seems we are going to Jan’s dad’s for Christmas after all, a decision that was made at fairly short notice after Jan finally got hold of his dad yesterday afternoon. The dad said he had no plans and we could come if we wanted. Jan wanted, and so we go. Today!! With one day less than I was expecting and no magic housework fairy to help, I only managed to get about half of the cleaning done. We will come back to a mess, but it can’t be helped.

Last night we had a picnic tea, trying to use up things that needed to be used up. I made sausage rolls from scratch because you can’t buy them here and I know Jan likes them.

basket

Picnic basket (Photo: uberculture)

I only figured out that I can make them myself this July! My achievement of 2012! LOL. There were also roast potatoes, sandwiches (to use up the bread) and carrot sticks to make it sort of healthy.

Right, I must go and finish sorting things out now. I want to put another load of washing on before we leave. It can dry while we’re away, ready to come away with us for New Year. Merry Christmas everyone! I hope you have a lovely time and get everything you wish for, whatever that may be (peace on Earth? An engagement ring? A white Christmas? I’m just hoping our train’s not delayed!).

Karlsruhe Christmas market 2012

Karlsruhe Christmas market 2012

Author: bevchen

No longer twenty-something, but still unmarried and unchildrened, English girl currently living in Germany. I work at a translation company and am slightly obsessed with books and travel. I also cross stitch.

15 thoughts on “Merry Christmas! Frohe Weihnachten!

  1. A peculiar meal but a fun one :)

    Have a wonderful time! Merry Christmas :D

  2. Merry Christmas to you and Jan, too! xoxo

  3. I like picnic teas – we had one last night too! :)
    Merry Christmas to you and Jan.

  4. I have my daughter and her boyfriend (visiting from Karlsruhe) and she mentioned meeting an English woman (red haired) in a supermarket called Rewe in August. I showed her your picture and thought it may have been you – not sure. Off chance but thought it could be possible. :)

    • Two girls once asked me something in Rewe that I did NOT understand, even after they repeated it for the third time! Not sure if that was in August though. Ask your daughter if it was a stupid English girl who looked completely blank the whole time ;-)

      • Lillian said to you (?) that not to worry because her German was not so good either. She remembers the repeating – she was with her boyfriend, tall skinny guy, dark hair. She has long brown hair, brown eyes and does not wear make-up. How cool would that be if she met you?! I would then say that it is a small world after all! I may be visiting Prague in November and told Fabian that I might stop by and visit him and his family. If I do, I will be sure to let you know. :)

      • Hmm, I’m pretty sure it was 2 girls I saw, but I could be wrong. The only thing I understood was “Never mind, have a good weekend” (said in German). If she said that it may have been me ;-) However, I have a red-headed friend who is from Scotland rather than England. She doesn’t sound very Scottish though, and she lives near me so could shop at the same Rewe. If it was her the world is still pretty small ;-)

      • Either way, I am glad we have met. :)

Leave a comment so I know you stopped by!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 468 other followers