Confuzzledom

Just a place for me to gather my thoughts

So that was Christmas…

4 Comments

All those days of rushing around like a lunatic, trying to get cards written, gifts wrapped and packages sent are now over, culminating in family and friends in various locations spending about a minute tearing off the wrapping paper and briefly admiring my offerings before moving on to the next brightly wrapped gift.

I sent a friend in England chocolate-coated Lebkuchen (a German gingerbread), which she has informed me she could happily eat every day of the year. Success!

My mum loves her posh herbal tea and has already started reading her book. My sister liked her book too.

My brother’s deodrant goes with shower gel and aftershave he got from other people. He’s happy because the scent he wanted is expensive and he couldn’t have afforded it himself!

The last few days my Facebook newsfeed has been full of photos and statuses referring to various babies’ first Christmases. Many of my friends gave birth to their first child this year and of course Christmas had to be recorded in minute detail. I’m sure I would be the same if it were ever to happen to me. Very cute photos of small children in their Christmas pyjamas. Those born at the beginning of the year are old enough to at least be somewhat aware, even if they did find the wrapping paper much more interesting than the gifts inside.

Our Christmas was busy. We arrived at Jan’s dad’s fairly late on 23 December. Christmas Eve for the Germans is Christmas day, but only in the evening. Until around 1 pm it’s an ordinary day and the shops are open. We went for a walk around the village then ate Lebkuchen while drinking tea. In the evening we ate sausages and potato salad before opening a few presents – one each for Jan and I. The rest had to wait until “my” Christmas. At midnight I opened another gift – a tradition in my family!

Early on the morning of 25 December we drove down to Jan’s dad’s girlfriend’s place (overuse of apostrophes in that sentence!). More gifts were exchanged there. By the time I’ve eaten all my chocolates I may never want to see another one again! Lunch was fish in a creamy sauce served with potatoes and tomatoes baked over with lots of cheese. Delicious! Afterwards we took advantage of a lull in the rain to go for a bit of a walk. It had started dripping again by the time we got back though.

We stayed there over night then drove up to Jan’s mum’s place on boxing day. Got there just in time for lunch, which was delicious beef from a happy cow (his mum knows the owners personally). After showing them our photos from Sweden we spent the evening playing Scrabble in German! There was one round where I did not come last ;-) Another night, another bed – we stayed there rather than going back to Jan’s dad’s.

Yesterday we came back to Karlsruhe, and tomorrow we go to Luxembourg for the New Year. A brief visit in our flat; two nights in our own bed then off on our travels again.

Christmas was busy, but fun. Next year I want to spend it in England again. After two christmases in Germany it’s time!

(Sorry, no pictures. Zemanta isn’t working and I didn’t take any.)

Author: bevchen

No longer twenty-something, but still unmarried and unchildrened, English girl currently living in Germany. I work at a translation company and am slightly obsessed with books and travel. I also cross stitch.

4 thoughts on “So that was Christmas…

  1. Sounds like you had a lovely time. It’s fun to experience foreign Christmases, but there’s no feeling like the one you grew up with :)

    • I will be in England for Christmas next year :-) The Christmas I grew up with is long gone though, what with divorces, deaths in the family and 23-years younger than me siblings mixing everything up!

  2. I wish you also a very merry belated Christmas and a wonderful new year 2013!!! May all your wishes and dreams will come true!!
    Svenja
    xx

Leave a comment so I know you stopped by!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 485 other followers