Confuzzledom

Just a place for me to gather my thoughts

A good day after all

10 Comments

After not sleeping very well last night then having to get up while it was still dark this morning – a fact that I had somehow managed to bloc from my memory during my two weeks off – I was really not in the mood for going to work this morning. Monday has never been my favourite day and first Mondays back after two weeks spent relaxing are never going to get a reputation for being particularly fun. But then my colleague arrived bringing with her an unexpected gift for me and suddenly things looked a lot brighter.

I got a mini Henry desktop hoover! He’s just like the ordinary Henry hoovers (you know, the red vacuum cleaners with the face), but battery operated and much smaller. So very cute! Every time my very boring translation made me start to wish I was anywhere but at my desk, a quick glance at Henry soon put the smile back on my face.

I then arrived home to find that two things had arrived. First something I found last week while looking for a gift for a friend’s birthday. I immediately fell in love and after showing it to Jan he agreed that I could buy it:

Owl tea cosy

Owl tea cosy

Isn’t she beautiful? (Yes, I’ve decided it’s a she). More fuel for my current obsession with owls. And it goes very well with the owl cushion my Grandma sent me before Christmas.

The second thing I found in my mail box made me squee very loudly to myself in excitement:

Eddie Izzard tickets!!

Eddie Izzard tickets!!

You probably can’t tell from this photo, but these are in fact my tickets for Eddie Izzard in Berlin this April!! I wanted to take a close up photo but my camera battery died immediately after taking this one.

The excitement of receiving my tickets was even enough to give me the rush of energy I needed to do some of my exercise DVD. Admittedly only one circuit (well, 3 if you inlude the warm up and cool down) but I did the thighs and triceps one which always kills me! I’ve no idea how I’m going to cope when I eventually get round to trying out the entire 40 minute workout!

So a potentially bad day that actually turned out well. Isn’t amazing what a difference a visit from the postman can make? ;-) (Not to mention lovely colleagues who know exactly what gifts will make you smile).

Author: bevchen

No longer twenty-something, but still unmarried and unchildrened, English girl currently living in Germany. I work at a translation company and am slightly obsessed with books and travel. I also cross stitch.

10 thoughts on “A good day after all

  1. I actually said, “Dear sweet God,” out loud when I saw that tea cozy. How cute!!! And Eddie Izzard will be a blast. I’m pretty sure he could make any day better :)

  2. I havent been off other then the public holidays and I am so much looking forward to my 3 week leave in February.
    Like the owl tea cozy! It’s cute. :-)

  3. SWEET BABY JESUS, EDDIE IZZARD IS COMING TO BERLIN?

    .Hi! Hope your Christmas was bangin!

  4. Totally – getting post makes everything not only better, but AWESOME (like the hotdog) …unless the post is bills, but they all come electronically now, so post is back to being exciting – yay! I’m glad your day got better, the owl tea cosy is fab!

    • lol, I don’t get bills at all. Everything is taken from my account automatically and I just see it on my statements, except the end of year one from the electricity company telling me they charged me too little per month and now want to take more money off me. Grrr.

Leave a comment so I know you stopped by!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 530 other followers