Confuzzledom

Just a place for me to gather my thoughts

Cocktails!

7 Comments

Last night, I met up with my friend K for food followed by cocktails. We decided to eat at Litfaß, which I like because it’s fairly cheap and does huge portions. I don’t think I’ve ever managed to finish my meal there!

The Litfaß sign... this is an old photophoto not taken last night

The Litfaß sign… photo not taken last night

After eating, we were going to head to a bar called Carlos for cocktails (I’d never been there), but it’s really small and turned out to be too full, so we moved on to Kap because I knew they do cocktails too. Jan joined us at around 10 o’clock and we finally left the bar at close to 3 a.m.!

I’d forgotten what it’s like to have a night out with a girl. Yes, I’ve been out with K before (Jan, K and I went to Freiburg Christmas market together, actually), but usually as part of a group and most times her (now ex-) girlfriend was there, too and I didn’t get to speak to K much. (Yes, I said ex-girlfriend. Yes, K is bi. Get over it already…).

Most of my friends here are male, and a lot of my friends back at uni were too. I seem to get on better with men… they’re less likely to get offended when I unthinkingly say the wrong thing, they don’t seem to mind when I go quiet because I’m feeling shy and don’t know what to say. Women tend to find me bitchy, weird or antisocial – and this is not me reading too much into things, but what people have actually told me. Men, for some reason, don’t – or maybe they do but just don’t care. So it’s been a while since I last went for drinks with a girl.

Another commentary on Friendship...

Friendship… (Photo credit: was_bedeutet_jemanden)

At the end of this conversation, K told me that she’s my friend. And I don’t think it was the cocktails talking ;-). Not bad for a random night out – yummy cocktails and a confirmed friend!

Author: bevchen

No longer twenty-something, but still unmarried and unchildrened, English girl currently living in Germany. I work at a translation company and am slightly obsessed with books and travel. I also cross stitch.

7 thoughts on “Cocktails!

  1. How lovely, friends are always nice to have :)

  2. Isn’t it lovely to make new friends? And how great that some people actually mention their appreciation? Glad you had a fab night out with cocktails :-)
    And thank you so much for your kind comment on my blog! I have started my blog without the intention and expectation that others would actually join in and read it, but I must say — it is a pleasure. It is a pleasure for what it is: A lovely community of bloggers, my chance to express my thoughts on my little space of the internet, being able to sort out the chaos inside my head plus getting the chance of meeting wonderful new people!

    I am absolutely grateful for this opportunity and won’t like to miss it anymore!

    Have a lovely weekend!!

    Svenja xx
    Happybluebird

  3. Ah, another one of those times where I know exactly what you mean (I’m so glad I happened upon you!)…I’ve always been more comfortable around men, mostly for reasons you already listed, they’re generally more forgiving of sarcasm, cynicism, bad moods and bitchiness, but recently I’ve made more girl friends…I suppose it’s an age thing. But I also find it hard to accept and know someone is my real, proper, actual friend and have to convince myself of it whenever something happens/is said to prove it! I’m so glad you enjoyed your night (what cocktails did you have?!) and found a good friend too!

    • Ahhh, this makes me happy. Not that it happens to you, but that I’m not the only one :-)

      We had different cocktails. I remember I had a Hugo, which has been really popular here all summer. Sparking wine, elderflower syrup and mint leaves. I also had some kind of colado containing creme de cacao. Chocolately goodness with rum!

Leave a comment so I know you stopped by!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 395 other followers