Confuzzledom

Just a place for me to gather my thoughts

Nine years on

13 Comments

Love ? I love love love you.

Love ? I love love love you. (Photo credit: @Doug88888)

Today, Jan and I have been together for nine years! Unbelievable. At the beginning, I never expected us to make it this far. I was on my year abroad, I’d recently broken up with someone else and my longest relationship until that point had been less than a year.

We’ve had our struggles and ups and downs, of course – starting when, after six months of being together, I had to go back to England to complete my degree while Jan went off to America for a year. Ironically, I had previously broken up with someone because I couldn’t handle being in a long-distance relationship – and the distance in that case was only between Northumberland and Nottingham (sorry Jay!!). However, neither of us wanted to break up at that point, so we agreed to try, and somehow it worked! Despite the fact that we only saw each other once, for precisely one week, between my 21st birthday in August 2004 and my graduation in July 2005 (my dad bought me a return flight to America as my Christmas present in 2004).

Long distance love

Long distance love (Photo credit: Dvortygirl)

After another year of long-distance – this time with me in Austria (read that carefully – it’s the one without the kangaroos) and Jan back in Germany, I decided that seeing my boyfriend an average of once a month wasn’t enough for me and made plans to move to Germany.

And now, almost six-and-a-half years later – I moved back in September 2006 -  here we are celebrating our 9 year “anniversary” (I wish I could think of another word for that…). I wonder what the next year will bring?

(Apologies to those who already know this story – probably not many. Pinklea maybe? I’ve gained a few new readers over the past year and I felt it was worth repeating).
Author: bevchen

No longer twenty-something, but still unmarried and unchildrened, English girl currently living in Germany. I work at a translation company and am slightly obsessed with books and travel. I also cross stitch.

13 thoughts on “Nine years on

  1. You have overcome hurdles many don’t, exciting times! Anything could happen :)

    • Yes, I think that’s part of the reason we’re still together. If you can survive a long-distance relationship AND find out you still work once you’re back in the same country anything is possible :-)

  2. Wow – 9 years including a lot of long-distance lovin’! Good for you two! Stick with it ;) x

  3. Congrats! We had a horrible long-distance 9 months at the start of our relationship (England-Germany), I moved over there, we both moved back to England in August and now we’re horribly entwined in a work-related distance thing again…at least until the Summer…rubbish! On the up-side, we’re only about 2 hours apart this time :-)

  4. CONGRATULATIONS !!!
    Wow. That is really an achievement!!
    My longest relationship went broken just before it turned two… I hope that there is still hope also for me :)

  5. Pingback: My 2013 | Confuzzledom

Leave a comment so I know you stopped by!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 397 other followers