Confuzzledom

Just a place for me to gather my thoughts

Ireland – The Route

20 Comments

I’ve spent a few days trying to find the perfect site to create a map of our route, but the closest I could get to what I wanted was this map I created on ZeeMap: Ireland 2013 Map (open in a new tab if you don’t want to leave this post). The red markers are places we stayed in, the purple ones are places we stopped en route from one overnight place to the next and the green markers are day trips from a place where we stayed the night. Unfortunately, what I didn’t manage to do on ZeeMaps was draw lines between the places, so all I eneded up with is a confusing mess of different coloured markers. *Sigh*. Obviously all this advanced technology stuff is not for me. So I was left with no option but to take a screenshot of the map I linked to above and draw in the lines by hand. Here’s the result:

How we drove around Ireland

How we drove around Ireland

Still confusing, but it does give some idea of the route we took. The purple line shows how we drove between the places we were stayingand the green shows day trips from those places. Hopefully things will become a lot more clear once I start posting about the individual places. In the meantime, here’s the list of places we visited, in chronological order but without dates…

  • Dublin
  • Bray, County Wicklow
  • Enniskerry, County Wicklow
  • Powerscourt Waterfall, near Enniskerry, County Wicklow
  • Glendalough, County Wicklow
  • Kilkenny
  • Jerpoint Abbey, Thomastown, County Kilkenny
  • Kells Priory, County Kilkenny
  • Dunmore Cave, Ballyfoyle, County Kilkenny
  • Leighlinbridge, County Carlow
  • Rock of Cashel, Cashel, County Tipperary
  • Cahir Castle, Cahir, County Tipperary
  • Blarney, County Cork
  • Bantry, County Cork
  • Priest’s Leap – a mountain pass on the Cork/Kerry border
  • Killarney
  • Dingle, County Kerry (well, near it anyway)
  • Inch Beach, County Kerry
  • Dunquin, County Kerry
  • Waterville on the Ring of Kerry
  • Moll’s Gap on the Ring of Kerry
  • Ladies View on the Ring of Kerry
  • The Gap of Dunloe, Killarney National Park
  • Adare, County Limerick
  • Galway
  • Dunguaire Castle, Kinvarra, County Galway
  • The Cliffs of Moher, County Clare
  • Poulnabrone Dolmen, The Burren, County Clare
  • Connemara National Park, County Galway
  • Leenane, County Galway
  • Athenry, County Galway
  • And finally… Dublin again

Stay tuned to find out what we did in each of the places on the list…

 

Author: bevchen

No longer twenty-something, but still unmarried and unchildrened, English girl currently living in Germany. I work at a translation company and am slightly obsessed with books and travel. I also cross stitch.

20 thoughts on “Ireland – The Route

  1. wow you certainly got about a bit :)

  2. You’ve seen more of Ireland than I have! You did such a lot!

    • Ah well, people never see much of their own country ;-)

      • It’s true! You tend to think ‘well, it’ll always be there’ and make a beeline for the most far-flung places you can find! I only saw the Giant’s Causeway a couple of years ago, and even then only because my friend was getting married down the road! (It’s pretty over-rated actually!)

      • My boyfriend wanted to see the Giant’s Causeway but we ended up only travelling round the south. I MAY have seen the Giant’s causeway at some point when I lived in Northern Ireland, but we left when I was 7 so I don’t remember.

      • I went at the end of July and there was a wind that would take the head off you! There are a few pictures of me looking miserable, wrapped in my cardigan, my friend’s cardigan and any other clothing we could find the back of the car – and a few rocks in the background ;)

  3. Man, you went all over…. that is awesome! Can’t wait to read more. :)

  4. I want the little dots to feature cake and sandwich flags ;-)

  5. That’s an awesome route! We haven’t been to Ireland yet so I am excited to read about your trip. (Let me know if you find a better option for a map. I’ve been looking so I could show people our trip plans and haven’t found a good one yet.)

    • My boyfriend suggested doing it on Google maps then piecing all the individual bits together but that sounds like too much work to me :-/

      More on our trip coming up over the next few days. First up: Dublin!

  6. Holy cow you saw so much! We are plannin a very similar trip right now minus the Kilkenny area unfortunately.

  7. Being from Canada and being used to huge distances between places, I am always amazed at how much you can see in two short weeks in any European country. You people saw A LOT of Ireland! So it looks like the route and the stops I’ve got planned should work out well – except for all those tourists puttering along on those narrow country roads. :D

    • Ah yes… the tourists! We noticed a huge difference in the number of people around between when we were in Dublin the first time and when we went back there 2 weeks later. High season is starting now!

      Ireland is tiny – the longest distance between two places we stayed in was about 3 hours.

  8. Dingle was totally worth it, right?

Leave a comment so I know you stopped by!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 522 other followers