Confuzzledom

Just a place for me to gather my thoughts

What am I stitching? Part 2

18 Comments

Well hello there, and welcome to another exciting episode of What am I stitching? What do you mean it wasn’t that exciting the first time round? Don’t lie… you looooove guessing what on Earth my cross stitched picture is going to be ;-)

So, last week I posted this photo of how far I’d come with a gift I’m stitching for a friend’s baby and asked you to guess what it was:

Cross stitch

These are the two responses I got:
The Pink Rachael thought it might be a banana eating a baby caterpillar. I think I like this guess better than the real answer ;-)
Sunshine of the Tropics went with a slightly more traditional idea: A teddy bear sitting in a crescent moon. Ooooh, a clever guess there, Sunshine.

And now for this week’s picture. Based on this, what on Earth do you think I might be stitching?

What am I going to be?

What am I going to be?

Jan knows exactly what I’m doing, but he’s still more than willing to tell me what it looks like at each stage, so once you’ve got your guesses in I shall reveal his answer as well.

And now, over to you.

Author: bevchen

No longer twenty-something, but still unmarried and unchildrened, English girl currently living in Germany. I work at a translation company and am slightly obsessed with books and travel. I also cross stitch.

18 thoughts on “What am I stitching? Part 2

  1. You have me in ——– :)
    I can’t tell the difference between last week’s and this week’s. Wait… a little grey cloud of doom seems to have appeared… symbolising… post natal depression…?!

  2. I think it could be a green teddy bear sitting astride an ‘arm’ of a star.

  3. AN angel on a moon…or a banana. Maybe a little kid sleeping on the moon…or a banana.

  4. I can’t even begin to guess! I was going to suggest a canary, but it seems as though the yellow thing is more than likely a moon!

  5. A leprechaun with an egg-shaped head, kicking his heels together as he dances a jig in his green booties. For some reason I can’t explain, a banana is throwing up a little in the background. Am I close???

  6. ooooh… ok i’m going to have to give it a guess this time around… a banana boat in the (green) sea?! Or more topically, I think it might be an angel… :)

  7. Is it a baby climbing a banana?

  8. It’s a dinosaur!!! No? Then I’ve no idea. But I like the way you work in one colour and presumably fill in later. I used to do mine line by line, which I’m guessing was wrong!

    • The way I learned to do it was start with which ever colour was in the middle, stitch everything in that colour then move on to the next colour… but when bits of that colour were far apart I found a miscounted a lot and ended up either having to unpick LOADS of throwing the stitching away because it couldn’t be saved, so now I start with a colour and when all the bits of the colour that connect are done, I move on to another one.There is more of the dark green to go, but I’ll do the bit in between first then add the rest of the dark green when I get to the place it’s supposed to be.

      • That makes a lot of sense. Counting is a faff and working with too many colours at once ends up with a bulky back! Like your way better

  9. Sorry, I meant a dragon!!!

  10. I have no idea what it is! LOL I mean taking into consideration the past answers… it kinda sorta feels like a bear with his back resting on something. I would say a moon, but it kinda looks like a tree trunk too – although I do not know of any yellow-colored tree trunk!

    That grey thing on what would be the bear’s head though… looks like a loaf of bread. A hungry bear eating a loaf of bread, resting his back on something. LOL

Leave a comment so I know you stopped by!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 400 other followers