Confuzzledom

Just a place for me to gather my thoughts

Snippets of life

9 Comments

The tagline for my blog is “Just a place to gather my thoughts”, and this is going to be one of those posts where I do just that…

  • Yesterday, I was reminded again of just how socially inept I can be when I’m not expecting to see someone. I bumped into my neighbour outside our building (not entirely unexpected you might think… but it almost never happens. I actually have neighbours who I wouldn’t recognise if I did bump into them!). This was the one neighbour who I know more than just to exchange hellos, so I stopped to converse… and could think of literally nothing to say! He started talking and I managed to respond, but I felt… awkward. And it was only after we parted ways that I realised he had asked how I am but I never returned the question. Hmmm…
  • I’m seriously starting to wish this cross stitch thing would just hurry up and get finished! No baby yet, luckily, but spending almost every spare minute stitching but failing to see much progress is very frustrating!
  • Purple loveliness

    Photo: rutty

    I was sent some Parma Violets for my birthday and introduced Jan to them this weekend. He wasn’t quite sure what to make of them, which isn’t really surprising. I’ve spent most of my life trying to figure out what to make of them! For those who don’t know, they’re little purple sugar sweets that smell like either floral old lady perfume or soap, depending on who you ask (the former is my description, the latter is Jan’s). They are supposed to taste like violets (as in the flower). Having never tasted a violet, I’ve no idea whether they actually do… mostly they taste incredibly sweet and vaguely soap-like. Definitely the weirdest sweet the UK has to offer!

  • Over a week after my birthday, I’m still trying to figure out where to put all my gifts. I need more surfaces! And more storage space!
  • Speaking of my birthday, I am aware that I haven’t posted anything about my party yet. I do plan to, but other things (like working late and tiredness) keep getting in the way, leading me to take the easy way out and take part in photo challenges instead. I promise to post about my party within the next week…

That’s all from me! I’m off to make another Mississippi Mud Pie so that Jan can actually try some too. At least this one won’t get rained on! ;-)

 

Author: bevchen

No longer twenty-something, but still unmarried and unchildrened, English girl currently living in Germany. I work at a translation company and am slightly obsessed with books and travel. I also cross stitch.

9 thoughts on “Snippets of life

  1. More pie! I’m game for that :)

  2. Parma Violets! They take me right back to my childhood. I love them; but they ARE weird.

  3. Violets?! Yuck… They probably taste like rose milk. I hate that too.

  4. I also am not entirely sure where I stand on the old parma violets… I think I would be excited to see some, but it would probably be more nostalgia than anything else! :)

  5. I ate some Parma Violets the other and tweeted that they tasted like Avon. So cosmetic and artificial, yet strangely yummy.

Leave a comment so I know you stopped by!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 464 other followers