Confuzzledom

Just a place for me to gather my thoughts

Happy Halloween!

13 Comments

Happy Halloween!

Photo: Wikipedia

Today is Halloween, the day of hosts and ghouls and things that go bump in the night! One of my favourite things to do on Halloween (or actually on any given dark night) as a child was to tell scary stories, so, this Halloween, I thought I would share my favoruite childhood scary story with you…

Heavy Breathing

It was Friday night and Jessie was babysitting for her a¬†family down the street neighbour. The baby hadn’t stirred all night and she’d been watching TV, but now she was starting to get bored. She was considering going to make a Midnight snack when the phone rang. Thinking it was probably the neighbours checking up on her, she answered.

“Hello?”. The person on the other end didn’t reply. All Jessie heard was heavy breathing. She decided it must be her brother trying to scare her and slammed down the phone. A few minutes later, the phone range again.
“Hello?”
*Heavy breathing*
“Gary, I know that’s you!”
*Heavy breathing*
“Stop it, you’re scaring me now!”
*Heavy breathing*

No longer so sure it was her brother, Jessie hung up and called the operator (people still did that in those days).
“Hi, I’m sitting for my neighbour’s baby and somebody keeps phoning me but not saying anything. Could you trace the call please?”
“Of course, just give me the phone number and we’ll get back to you as soon as we know more.”

Feeling better now that something was being done, Jessie hung up and headed to the kitchen to finally get her snack. Just as she’d finished making a sandwich, the phone range again. Oh good, the operator! she thought and hurried to answer the phone. More heavy breathing. This time, Jessie hung up straight away. Immediately, the phone rang again. Fearfully, Jessie answered
“Huh.. hello?”.
“Hello, this is the operator. We’ve managed to trace the call. You need to get out of the house now. Forget about the baby! The heavy breathing is coming from the phone upstairs!”

* * *

Versions of this story have been doing the rounds for decades – it even has a Wikipedia page! I was about eleven years old when I first heard it and was actually babysitting at the time, together with the friend who told me the story. Just after she’d finished telling it, the phone rang and we both jumped a mile! It turned out to be my mother, checking up on us…

Happy Halloween! What’s your favourite scary story?

Author: bevchen

No longer twenty-something, but still unmarried and unchildrened, English girl currently living in Germany. I work at a translation company and am slightly obsessed with books and travel. I also cross stitch.

13 thoughts on “Happy Halloween!

  1. I am SO glad I visited you this morning and not this evening.. I would have been so spooked!
    I don’t have a favourite scary story… unless you count Stephen King’s Carrie? ;)

  2. Uhh, that is a creepy story! I love anything scary! Thanks for sharing! Happy Halloween!

  3. I remember that one! Scared the crap out of me as a child!

  4. Ooh Good one!! On a completely non scary fun Halloween note, I just had a bunch of kids dressed up, just come to my door here in Serbia!!! How freaking cool!!! They just made my night!

  5. I heard a scary story based around babysitting too, involving a clown doll, have you heard that one?

  6. Oh man, that’s such a creepy story! Haha!

Leave a comment so I know you stopped by!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 501 other followers