Confuzzledom

Just a place for me to gather my thoughts

Hexham Abbey

9 Comments

Every year, my family goes to the Queen’s Hall theatre in Hexham to watch a performance by the travelling theatre company Oddsocks. Usually we go in the evening, but this year my dad bought tickets for the afternoon matinee – presumably because of my brother (who is now 7). Before the performance, we met up with family friends who also always go to the performance for Sunday lunch. It was the first time Jan had actually seen Hexham in the light! Between the meal and the theatre, there was a little time to spare, so my grandparents suggested taking a walk to Hexham Abbey. There has been a church on the site of Hexham Abbey since approximately the year 674, but the current building dates from Norman times (1170-1250). Since the dissolution of the monastries in 1537, the Abbey has been the parish church of Hexham. The Eastern part of the Abbey was destroyed when the monastry was dissolved and rebuilt in 1860. Here are some photos:

The abbey from the outside

The abbey from the outside

Below the abbey, there is a crypt with relics from the original Wilfred’s Benedictine Abbey built in the 7th century. It’s only open twice a day, so we couldn’t go down but I have been down there before when I visited Hexham Abbey with school.

~Please note that I am now in Madeira for New Year and am again unable to reply to comments. Feel free to leave one though, and I will respond as soon as I can!~

Author: bevchen

No longer twenty-something, but still unmarried and unchildrened, English girl currently living in Germany. I work at a translation company and am slightly obsessed with books and travel. I also cross stitch.

9 thoughts on “Hexham Abbey

  1. That’s a fantastic tradition! I would love to do something like this too. The abbey looks fantastic!

  2. So beautiful! And I would love to get to take a tour of those crypts, oooo!

Leave a comment so I know you stopped by!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 498 other followers