Confuzzledom

Just a place for me to gather my thoughts

First Friday letters of 2014!

18 Comments

It’s not the first Friday of 2014, but it is the first one on which I’ve a) been in Germany and b) had access to a computer, so these are my very first Friday letters of this year…

Letters

Dear Madeira. You are beautiful! I wish we’d had a few more days to spare so we could do more hinking and maybe go on a whale watching trip, but alas work called.

Dear ticket collectors. I would appreciate it if you could announce your presence before you’re standing directly behind me, so I could get my travel card out in advance and not be left scrabbling for my purse in a panic while you stand there staring at me.

Dear Banoffee Pie. I’ve never made you before, and I’m planning to try you out for the first time tomorrow. You’re coming with us to a birthday party, so please work out okay!

Dear weather. I have to admit you are worrying me slightly. Temperatures have been almost Spring-like this week, which leads me to suspect that winter will creep up when I’m least expecting it. Probably in April…

Dear 2014. So far, you are a clean slate! I have no firm plans for you yet, only a few tentative ones for March and June. I want you to be a good year so it’s time to get my thinking cap on! I still have another 8 trips to plan for starters!

Dear readers. It’s nice to see that some of you are still there, despite the fairly long break I took over the holidays. I’m still playing catch up with my comments, but I’m sure we’ll all be back in the swing of things soon. Here’s to a fabulous year, both in blogging and outside it!

Author: bevchen

No longer twenty-something, but still unmarried and unchildrened, English girl currently living in Germany. I work at a translation company and am slightly obsessed with books and travel. I also cross stitch.

18 thoughts on “First Friday letters of 2014!

  1. I’m still here, enjoying reading about your adventures! I love clean slated too, there’s something awesome about them. I hear you about the weather – we ARE having spring temps this weekend. Me no likey.

  2. Hooray – I always enjoy your Friday letters! I agree about the ticket collectors – they have a knack of creeping up behind you.

  3. There will be a pic of the banoffee pie, won’t there?*

    [*This is, in fact, an order stated in rhetorical question format. ]

  4. Good luck with the pie! 8 trips, sounds like you have some good times ahead.

  5. I am still trying to catch up with posting and commenting as well. :)

  6. My friend send me a message the other day asking if I wanted to come to Germany to “warm up” since the weather has been so crazy here and very cold for Florida!!! :) Love reading your “letter”!!!

  7. My flatmate told me we’re going to get snow sometime this coming week…

  8. I like to think that last year’s seven months of winter was an anomaly and that this relatively mild winter is far more common.

Leave a comment so I know you stopped by!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 464 other followers