Confuzzledom

Just a place for me to gather my thoughts

Some kind of smoothie

12 Comments

smoothieI had to buy a new hand blender because I’d managed to break my old one. In the interest of fairness, I should add that said breaking was entirely down to my own stupidity and had nothing to do with any failings in the device itself. Apparantly the metal attachment hadn’t been properly screwed back onto the handle part after use. Being me, I didn’t bother to check this before using the blender but, seeing it already put together, simply plugged it in and pressed the button. Even when it started making weird noises while spinning all I did was think “Hmm, it doesn’t normally sound like that!”. It only occurred to me to check what was going on when the smell of burning plastic filled the air. Result: the plastic thingy in the handle part things that causes the metal rod for the blades to spin is all worn away so the spinning thing no longer happens. Basically, I’m pretty much a moron…

To christen my new blender, I made this drink which involves the blending together of fruit (and coconut milk), so I guess it’s a smoothie of some kind…

Ingredients:
125 g raspberries
1 tin coconut milk
The juice from half a lime
1 small banana

Method:
1. Break the raspberriesĀ  up a bit and place them in a jug with a little bit of the coconut milk, then blend the raspberries until smooth (you might want to wear an apron in case raspberry juice goes everywhere. Or maybe that only happens to me… we’ve already established that I’m a moron, after all ;-))

2. Add the rest of the coconut milk and the freshly squeezed lime juice and stir everything together well with a spoon.

3. Chop up the banana (slice it then halve the slices) and add it to the mixture. Blend everything together until smooth.

4. Place the mixture in the fridge to cool before drinking. Trust me, you won’t want to drink it warm!

Tada… a refreshing drink for summer! And it’s full of fruit (and no added sugar), so it’s also healthy and stuff. Aaaand it’s lactose free/vegan, so basically everyone can enjoy. Unless you’re allergic to coconut milk. Or limes, raspberries or bananas. I bet somebody out there is! (Also, if you’re wondering why the banana went in last… it’s because I only put it in as an afterthought when I realised the mixture was kind of runny. I suppose you can probably put it in earlier, if you like. Or leave it out and use more raspberries – I didn’t have any more so that option was out for me!).

Author: bevchen

No longer twenty-something, but still unmarried and unchildrened, English girl currently living in Germany. I work at a translation company and am slightly obsessed with books and travel. I also cross stitch.

12 thoughts on “Some kind of smoothie

  1. Love the new banner! And it matches your smoothie!!! ;-)

  2. The one thing I REALLY miss about having a permanent address is the kitchen – and especially a blender! I’m jealous of your smoothie capabities!

  3. It sounds very nice, but I would have to leave out the banana – it’s not that I am allergic tO them, they just don’t agree with me any more. :(

  4. That looks so yummy!!! Definitely trying this recipe…I like the idea of coconut milk instead of regular milk :) Plus, I’ve been on such a raspberries kick lately…can’t get enough of them!!! Also, where did you get hand blender/which type/was it expensive?!

    • Rossmann for ā‚¬16.99. It only has 2 modes (“On” and “Turbo”) but that’s good enough for me. Also, it doesn’t come with a jug but I didn’t mind because I alreadyhave a measuring jug!

      Also, we discovered that if you strain it through a sieve after refrigerating it gets the coconut flakes out and makes it more drinkable.

  5. you could have added oats to help bulk it up :)

  6. Sounds delicious. I love smoothies and I love that you used coconut milk! The blender incident sounds like something that would happen to me.

Leave a comment so I know you stopped by!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 499 other followers