Last blog post before I turn 25!

On this day a quarter of a century ago I was born. I bet my poor mum is feeling very old right now! Even I’m feeling old, and I’m not the mother of a 25 year old (almost 25 year old anyway… I was born at 8:02pm so officially I’m still 24 til then).

Today started off badly but has gradually got better.
It started when Jan and I overslept this morning. At 6:10 am the alarm beeped and I turned over, murmering something about 5 more minutes. Jan picked up the loudly squawking clock and hit the snooze button. Or at least I assumed he did. Some time later I woke up thinking “it must have been 5 minutes by now, what’s going on?” It had indeed been more than 5 minutes… a lot more in fact. It was 5 past 7! So no leisurely birthday breakfast for me. I just had time to have a quick shower, get dressed, brush my teeth and make a sandwich to eat on the way to work. Somehow I managed to arrive at Europaplatz with enough time to buy some cake before my tram came. In Germany when it’s your birthday you provide the cake for your colleagues. Usually I would bake one, but we went to the cinema last night so I didn’t have time. So I bought cake then crossed the road to wait for my tram. The S1, which comes 1 minute before mine, came and went. No sign of the S11. The 6 came and went. Still no S11. So I waited and waited and, 10 minutes later, got on the next S1 (the first S1 ends 3 stops before mine). The S11 never did show up. So great start to the day – first I oversleep then my tram doesn’t show up!

Things started to get better after that though. The boss wasn’t bothered about me being 10 minutes late. He said “stuff like that can happen when you’re relying on trams” then later told me that technically I can turn up anywhere between 8:30 and 9am, they just prefer it to be earlier so they can close early. I then showed him my cake and said I had bought a little something because it’s my birthday. I expected him to know already. Turns out he didn’t, despite the fact that I gave him something to photocopy the other day with my date of birth on it. I could have just not mentioned anything and kept the cake! Although I’m actually pleased I did let him know… it meant I got sent home at 4:30pm so I could enjoy my birthday afternoon. Yay for nice bosses!

And now I’m off to enjoy my last hour and a bit as a 24 year old.

HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO ME!!

3 thoughts on “Last blog post before I turn 25!

Leave a comment so I know you stopped by!

