And thus begins another week.

Another Monday morning. Once again the weekend went by far too fast. Not really surprising considering it’s only two days, and yet it does surprise me. Every single time.

Alarm Clock 2
Photo: Alan Cleaver

It’s been another one of those fun mornings where I wanted to stay in bed for five more minutes only to end up with the alarm somehow switched off instead of just snoozing. I’m starting to think it switches itself off after a certain number of snoozes. It’s the only explanation that makes sense cos it’s actually pretty difficult to press the off button by mistake. Anyway, this time I was lucky. I woke up at 3 minutes to 7 instead of 25 past.

The first time the alarm went off it woke me up from a dream in which Jan and I were getting a lift home with 3 people who were actually ghosts. The alarm beeped just as the ghosts were about to crash the car in the same place that they had died. If Jan had been there to give me a hug I wouldn’t have needed to keep pressing snooze. As it was I was still too creeped out by the dream to risk getting out from under the quilt. Yes, I know I’m pathetic.

Oh, and something has bitten me on my leg. Something vicious it seems, judging by the size of the lump. And I didn’t even hear the squeeee. The bastards are getting sneaky…

Anyway, gotta go. I’m currently trying to eat breakfast and type at the same time and I have to leave for work in 5 minutes…

5 thoughts on “And thus begins another week.

  1. I tend to incorporate the sound of my alarm into my dreams, thereby not waking up to it at all. I know have to have different alarm clocks scattered around the room, set to go off sequentially. Getting up is hell!

  2. Hi there,

    Sorry to be a bit off topic here, but I am the author of a book called ‘A Place in My Country: In Search of a Rural Dream.’

    A blogger (Katyboo1’s Weblog) recently posted a review of my book on Amazon.co.uk and on her own blog.

    http://katyboo1.wordpress.com/2008/09/16/a-place-in-my-country/

    I hope you don’t mind but I thought it might therefore appeal to you too, as she has you on her blogroll.

    Here’s the Amazon reference but it is published by Phoenix in paperback and was published by Weidenfeld & Nicholson last year.

    Anyway, there it is. Again, hope you don’t object to this shameless self-promotion.

    Kind regards,
    Ian
    http://www.ianwalthew.com
    http://www.farmblogs.blogspot.com

  3. sleepyjane & Welsh Girl – glad to hear I’m not the only one who has trouble getting up in the morning.

    Ian – I’ve actually already read Katy’s review and aded your book to my looong list of “stuff to read when I finally have enough money to actually buy books again”. I will get round to buying it one day, promise…

Leave a comment so I know you stopped by!

