And now for something completely different…

Finally some good news from the employment agency. They have agreed to give me 70 euros of the money I spent on train tickets to job interviews back. That means I now have a whole 100 euros for the month of September instead of a mere 30. Maybe I won’t be reduced to a diet of tinned tomatoes on toast after all (baked beans being ridiculously overpriced in this country).

Anyway, since I have absolutely nothing to talk about today and because Sleepyjane specifically requested it, I’m going to do something I don’t think I’ve ever done on Confuzzledom before and give you a recipe. For chilli con carne. The amounts given here are what I use for two people. For those of you with actual families it shouldn’t be too difficult to adapt.

Basic Chilli con Carne

You will need:
A packet of mince (here that’s 500g) – for any American readers, I believe that would be ground meat
Garlic cloves – how many depends on how you like it. I normally use 2-3
An onion
Dried chilli flakes or chilli powder (but not that horrible ready-made chilli con carne spice stuff). You can also add a fresh chilli if you want.
Tin of chopped tomatoes
Tin of kidney beans
Optional: oregano and tomato puree

Method:
1. Chop up the onion so it’s fairly small. Either crush the garlic or chop it up as small as you can. If you’re using a fresh chilli you should chop that up into small pieces at this point as well.
2. Heat a small amount of oil in a large frying pan (or a saucepan if you don’t have a big enough frying pan). Put some of the dried chilli flakes or chilli powder into the oil and stir it around a bit. Once the oil is hot enough add the onion, garlic ad fresh chilli (if you’re using one) and fry for about 1-2 minutes.
3. Add the mince and fry until all if it has gone brown. While it’s frying season it with salt and pepper. At this point you can also put oregano in if you want. The last two times I haven’t (because I didn’t have any) and it still turned out nice so it’s really up to you.
4. Once all of the mince is brown I usually add about a tablespoon of tomato puree. This will make your chilli more red later, you don’t have to do this though, it tastes just as good if you only use the tinned tomatoes
5. Add the tin of chopped tomatoes and the tin of kidney beans (don’t forget to drain the weird sugary-water liquid from the kidney neans first!), stir the chilli well and heat though.
6. The chilli is now basically ready. All that’s left to be done is for you to taste and decide whether it needs more of anything… chilli powder, salt etc.
7. Serve the chilli with rice. Or some of those crispy taco shells. Or inside a jacket potato. It’s entirely up to you.

That’s it. Easy, no?

6 thoughts on “And now for something completely different…

  1. Cynical Scribble – indeed. I don’t know why people insist on using those “just add water and mince” packet mixes when it’s sooo easy to make it properly.

    Ian – Ha! Try getting Spanish Chorizo in Germany! Tjis is a basic chilli anyway, obviously you can add more stuff (the Germans would insist on putting sweetcorn in. UGH! I hate sweetcorn 😦 Every time I eat a chilli made by Germans I end up trying to swallow the sweetcorn without chewing).

  2. Yeah, my mother does it with sweetcorn too, I don’t see the point since it doesn’t add anything to the taste, and the texture is alright without the slighty crunch of the corn. But I can find chorizo in London! Why can’t you have some in Germany? Don’t they have any butcher around?

  3. Ian – well yes, there are butchers. But they’re usually closed when I want to go to them. There is one supermarket that sells pretty much everything but it’s a bit out of the way.

    sleepyjane – you’re welcome! If you make it you have to let me know how it goes.

Leave a comment so I know you stopped by!

