Autumn in the air

Standing at the tram stop this morning, I was hit by a smell that I can only describe as “Autumn”. Unfortunately it didn’t last long, as after a few minutes the only other person at the stop lit up a cigarette and my nostrils were filled with smoke instead, but not before I managed to take a deep breath of that wonderful aumtumny fragrance. The sun was just barely up and it was still pretty cold outside, with that crisp clean feel to the air that makes smells (and sounds) spread for miles. And the scent of autumn was definitely in the air. It’s that slightly dusty smell of fallen leaves, mixed with the scent of conkers. I couldn’t see any conkers but I could certainly smell them! It’s the smell of nature, but not the nature smell you get in spring. Spring smells new and fresh and green (of course green has a smell!). The nature of autumn is more mature. This is nature that’s seen things. It’s mature nature (interesting that those two words don’t rhyme). Spring smells invigorating, summer is sweet and warm, but autumn has a musty, down-to-earth smell. I love the first few weeks of autumn weather, when the days are still warm (but the sun isn’t beaming down, doing its best to give me sunstroke) and the evenings are still light. This part of autumn never lasts for long though, so I’d better enjoy it while I can!

2 thoughts on “Autumn in the air

Leave a comment so I know you stopped by!

