Surviving winter in Germany

Here’s a photo that I took on the way to work this morning.

Cold!

For Americans (and anyone else who uses Fahrenheit… do any other countries use Fahrenheit? Genuine question…) that’s 24.8°F. Oh, and this was taken after my commute – it was actually -6°C  (21.2°F) when I left the house. Those of you who leave in really cold places are probably now thinking “What? That’s not cold!”. Well, I am British and being an island nation, we don’t do extremes of temperature. Wikipedia tells me the lowest temperature ever recorded in England was −26.1 °C (−15.0 °F) in Shropshire… and that was in 1982. I wasn’t even born til 1983! The lowest for Scotland – which has a reputation among those in southern England for being cold – is −27.2 °C (−17.0 °F), measured in Aberdeenshire in 1895 and 1982 then in Sutherland in 1995. Compare that with Germany’s low of −45.9 °C (−50.6 °F), measured in Berchtesgaden, Bavaria as recently as 2001 and you may begin to see my point. I do not do cold!! (I don’t do hot either, but that’s a story for another day.)

During my first winter in Germany I was woefully unprepared. I am lucky in that I ended up in one of the warmest areas of Germany, and the year I did my year abroad was unseasonably warm, so it was still fairly mild in November. But the winter did come eventually, and I was not expecting it at all! (Two years later I moved to Austria, where it was even colder! But at least I was expecting it there.) So in case you, like me, have come to Germany entirely unprepared for the cold, here are a few tips for surviving the winter…

    • First, buy a thick, warm and – most importantly – long scarf. Then take this scarf and wrap it around your neck twice (this is where the long part is essential!). The first loop needs to fit snuggly against your skin (but don’t pull it too tight – you want to be warm, not strangled!). Leave the second part slightly looser, but not too loose.
    • Invest in a nice warm coat. Preferably a waterproof one – snow is not just pretty, it is also wet. Plus, it rains a lot here in winter. Now, fasten your coat up, making sure it comes right up to you scarf. Leave no gaps for chilly winds to get in! The bottom loop of your scarf should be covered by your coat, the second loop can be slightly over it. This part can be used to cover your skin when it gets really cold.
    • Boots are essential! Ankle boots are ok, but longer ones are better. I have Gore-Tex boots, a bit like these ones except mine have a zip down the side and they are AMAZING! They cost me about €100 but it was so worth it. They’re waterproof, have grips on the bottom (very important for snow/ice) and a lambskin lining to keep me warm.
    • If (like me) you wear thin trousers for work, you really need to put something under them. And if you prefer skirts, sou will need to invest in some warm tights (which Leo tells me are called “pantyhose” in America. Really?! That sounds so… weird!). I recommend C&A thermal tights for this (I swear, I am not being sponsored to write this, they really are good!).
    • Tea is your friend. Drink it as much as possible. There are sooo many sorts of tea in Germany that there is bound to be at least one you like! (The fruit ones are technically infusions as they contain no actual tea whatsoever, but never mind.) Glühwein is also your friend, but not recommended for drinking at work. Save that one for the Chistmas market. Hot chocolate is also good for warming up. Drink it with whipped cream for that added bit of decadence.
    • Buy a hat, and make sure it covers your ears. I don’t care how stupid you think you look in hats – when it’s -11°C you won’t care what you look like as long as your ears are warm!
Penguin Santa Hat
Penguin Santa Hat (Photo: chiaralily)
  • Soup, soup and more soup! There’s nothing like it on a cold day, and the Germans do it so well. I had a delicous chesnut soup yesterday, but potato, creamed leek, pumpkin, lentil stew with or without little sausages in it and even Gulasch soup are popular. You can even get soup at most Christmas markets, at least in larger towns.
  • Close the door! Sorry if this seems obvious, but if you close the door to the room you’re in, the heating will warm it up much quicker – otherwise everything the radiator produces has to heat up all the other rooms it drifts into as well!
  • Bake! Not only is it fun, but all the heat from the oven will warm you up in no time. I haven’t had the radiator in the kitchen on once this year, because every time I’m in there I’m either baking or cooking, which produces enough heat to warm me up nicely.
  • And if all else fails, go to bed. Sometimes under the quilt is the best place to be. If you’re not sleepy, take a book with you. Reading in bed is one of my favourite pastimes!
11 thoughts on “Surviving winter in Germany

  1. I know exactly what you’re talking about, although I did live in Scotland for much of my life, I was actually born in England.
    We reached -12°C in our part of Germany yesterday. (That was during the day, when I had to go to town). The day before, a few kilometres along the road it dropped to -21°c. Gulp. The lowest I’ve been outside in since I came here is -18°C.
    The first winter I was so unprepared too. And I couldn’t get over the fact that they still made the children play outside in these lower than freezing temperatures!

  2. I’m American, and I call them tights! You can also call them pantyhose, but that sounds sort of old-fashioned or formal to me. Anyway, I love thermal tights! I must look crazy when I go outside here wearing them, but I swear they are warmer than jeans sometimes. Will have to stop at C&A and check them out.

  3. I think they should count us in to the polar circle. It certainly has deserved to be called this way during the last couple of arctic days. Brrrrr. Only wondering why all the reindeers prefer Lappland. They would look so beautiful here, too.

    xx

  4. Last week it made the sudden leap from fairly mild and sunny to bloody freezing here too! (I shouldn’t moan, it is december!), but I am not very well-equipped for wintery weather, and I know it’s going to be colder still back in England next week (not as cold as you have it there, but still…!) So, the very long scarf, hat and tights are all on, soup is a staple in the kitchen, the heat is on and the door is closed…except in my classroom. I have spent the past two weeks going spare at children – they all walk through my room to get to the playground and then all leave the door open, all anyone’s heard recently is me yelling “CLOSE THE DOOOOOOOOOOOR!!! Do you want me to freeze?!”

    1. It’s actually warmed up a bit here – it’s now 6°C. I can’t cope with this confusion!! Haha.

      I would like to say “what is it with kids being incapable of closing a door?”, but it actually seems to be people in general – including adults who should know better! Aargh!

      1. Most of the kids are now better than the adults here too – they all go through whispering to whoever they’re with “Make sure you close the door” – I’ve obviously ranted in a sufficiently terrifying way!!

Leave a comment so I know you stopped by!

