For the sake of my sanity…

Tonight, I am moving into the spare room.

Don’t worry, the boyfriend and I are fine. We haven’t even argued recently, and the move will only be temporary. But for the sake of my own sanity I need to sleep alone tonight! Why? Here’s a summary of last night…

Jan had choir practice after work, which meant less cooking, less cleaning up and a much lessbusy evening for me. I was in bed by 10:00 and asleep by 10:30 (yay!) I then managed a whole hour and a half of blissful, uninterrupted sleep before Jan came to bed at midnight, waking me up. He got into bed, we exchanged a few words, got ourselves comfortable and I drifted back off to sleep. So far, so good…

Awake is the New Sleep (2005)
Awake is the New Sleep (2005) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

About half an hour later, I was woken by the sound of grinding teeth. For those of you who don’t know what tooth grinding sounds like, let me tell you it is awful! Imagine someone waking you up in the middle of the night by running their nails down a blackboard. Now imagine them doing it over and over at a constant rate. And Jan’s tooth grinding is loud! Sometimes, when he does it in the morning I can actually hear the grinding from the corridor… through two closed doors!

So what did I do? I prodded him in the arm and told him he was grinding his teeth. The response was a noise that may or may not have contained actual words. I heard nothing recognisable! But the tooth grinding stopped, which was the main thing. So I pulled the quilt back over  my legs (somehow, it had escaped), snuggled back down among my pillows and closed my eyes… only for them to ping back open seconds later. The grinding had started again! This time I poked him harder, causing him to rub his arm (haha!) then – miracle of all miracles – I managed to get back to sleep. For a while anyway…

Angry Penguin
(Photo: Wikipedia)

Six times he woke me up between midnight and 4:45 a.m. Six!! And yes, I was counting – by which I mean thinking to myself “This is the fourth time tonight – if I don’t get some decent sleep soon I swear to God he’s getting pushed out of this bed!” (I never did push him out of the bed, but I was so close!) The final time, I got the added bonus of snoring. Hurray! Then, once I’d got him to stop, I was so convinced my alarm was about to go off that I couldn’t sleep until I’d checked the time – 4:45 a.m.

After that, I didn’t wake again until my alarm went off at 6 a.m. – when I promptly hit snooze and went back to sleep until 6 past (my phone snoozes for 6 minutes at a time… I’ve no idea why!).  When I did get up, I was exhausted, and upon returning from my shower I informed Jan that I would be sleeping in the spare room from now on… until he gets himself a dentist’s appointment and has his tooth guard replaced (he ground right through the last one – true story!!).

It has to be done – for the sake of my sanity! (And to save Jan from being murdered in his sleep…)

11 thoughts on “For the sake of my sanity…

  1. bleak! My sister used to grind her teeth, I can only imagine how that is but louder! It would drive me insane – no-one would be wise to get between me and my sleep, I love sleep! Hope you sleep better tonight!

  2. I regulalry have nights to myself as my bf snores. Loudly. But I make him sleep on the sofa as he is causing the problem! I get the best sleep ever!! Take a hot water bottle with you and it is perfect 🙂

  3. Uhh, I hope it is getting better soon.. I won’t be able to close an eye when there’s such noise present, also snorers are candidates of my violent attacks at nights, ha ha. I used to grid my teeth (not that much though) and I heard it is mostly stress-related. I went to have treatments by my alternative health lady (homeopath, who also practices HNC – human neuro cybrainetics) and she was able to release the stress and the blockades I had…. Otherwise I know of dentists providing a plastic thing for the nights… Good luck!

    1. Yeah, he needs a new plastic thing. He ground right through the last one!!

      You would think it might be stress related, but his stress levels seem to have no bearing on whether or not he grinds. Sometimes when he’s incredibly stressed he doesn’t wake me up once all night!! There’s no pattern to it. In his case it’s genetic though – his mum does it too, and always has.

Leave a comment so I know you stopped by!

