“Interesting news”

May You Live in Interesting TimesThis afternoon, just as I was thinking about stopping work and lunch, my mobile phone rang. My initial reaction was confusion. Who could be calling me? Hardly anyone calls me, and especially not while I’m at work. Then, on taking the phone out of my bag and seeing my boyfriend’s name on the screen, I started to worry. Jan does occasionally call me during the day, but he’s currently in Turkey, where he’s supposed to be watching presentations and such. I wasn’t expecting to hear from him until tonight – his presentation was supposed to be today and he usually calls to tell me how it went.

I answered the phone, and his first words were “I have interesting news.” Turns out he’d had a stomach ache on the flight over, on Monday it got so bad that he went to see a doctor, and he was calling my yesterday from the hospital where he was about to have his appendix removed. This is what my boyfriend calls interesting news?!

worried square
worried square (Photo: cathredfern)

Knowing that 1) He had a good translator with him who was taking care of all the insurance-related stuff and 2) The appendix hadn’t ruptured and only a small cut would be needed did nothing to alleviate my worry. He was still in hospital. In Turkey. And I had absolutely no way of knowing what was going on. He promised to call me again as soon as he could after the operation, then hung up so he could phone his mum. It’s a good job I didn’t have much work to do in the afternoon because my concentration level was roughly zero!

At 2 p.m. I received a text message:

Appendix is out. Went well. Gonna get some sleep now. I love you.

Panic over. Or at least reduced. I still wish he wasn’t in Turkey though.

14 thoughts on ““Interesting news”

    1. 🙂 Admidst all the worry, I actually thought to myself “ooh, he called me before his parents!”.

      I just logged on to Facebook to find a message from his mum saying I must be feeling as shocked as she was, but don’t worry he’s going to be alright. Sooo lovely!

  1. Worst luck! Glad it all went well, though can’t imagine how worried you must have been and how glad you’ll be when he gets back and you have living, walking proof he’s all in one piece again!

    1. Exactly – living, walking proof!!

      I spoke to him on the phone earlier and he said “Well, the general anaesthetic is wearing off – I can feel my legs again!”. Apparantly tomorrow they’re going to see whether he can stand up. He seemed ok though, and it sounds like they know what they’re doing.

  2. Oh god. I am glad he is okay. Thankfully the appendix didn’t rupture. But I’d have been in a panic were it me in your shoes. I thought it was hilarious, though, that he would say “I have interesting news…” Germans! Still, super glad the operation seemed to have gone well. I’m sure you’ll be glad when he’s back and you can check for yourself.

    1. Terrifying is about right! He seemed to be taking it more calmly than I was (although I suppose he was actually there and could see what the hospital was like, whereas I was thinking “OMG, a hospital in TURKEY! Will they even know what they’re doing?! Helllp!”).

      I’ve had 2 text messages today, and he seems to be on the mend.

Leave a comment so I know you stopped by!

