Happenings

Okay, enough snow pictures! What else has been going in in the land of Confuzzledom?
Well, I bought these shoes:

Polka dot shoes

I spotted them through the doorway as I walked past H&M and I just had to go in and see if they were available in my size. They were – and they only cost €9.95! Bargain. And yes I am aware that some people will consider me the devil incarnate for shopping at H&M (think of the poor Chinese workers…), but I’m already boycotting Proctor and Gamble (which, by the way, means no Pringles for me, ever!!) and Lidl. A girl can’t give up everything you know… and especially not polka dot shoes! Unfortunately, so far I’ve only been able to wear them inside the flat. It’s too cold out for anything other than boots!

Hmm, what else?
I’ve been trying to incorporate exercise isn’t my daily routine, so that I can still work off my daily treats even when there’s no time for my exercise DVD. So whenever nobody else is in my office, I do some weight lifting with my water bottle (1.5 l of water isn’t exactly light!) or lift up each leg in turn and hold it straight for a few seconds. Then, at home, while waiting for water to heat for pasta or potatoes, I do star jumps*. I’m hoping this will at least slightly counteract my inability to walk past the Easter basket at work without taking just one or two tiny chocolate eggs…

stare
Stare (Photo credit: Hen3k Hen3k)

I heard a girl speaking English on the tram the other day and she had the exact same accent as my American friend. I kept looking at her thinking “You sound just like L… but you’re clearly not L!”. If you’re an American in Karlsruhe and you noticed someone staring at you on the tram towards Ettlingen, I swear I’m not a psycho!

Yesterday was the monthly “Stammtisch with my colleagues”. A Stammtisch can either mean your regular table at your local pub or a regular meetup for people with similar interests (such as an English Stammtisch for people who want a chance to speak English). In our case, the Stammtisch simply involves going for a meal with our colleagues and having a chance to chat outside of work. Former colleagues/interns, etc. are also invited, but don’t often show up. This month, the chosen meeting place was an Indian restaurant (there’s a vote), so I had a delicious curry for last night’s tea. The first few times one of us ordered something, the waiter would say in broken German “You can’t order that – it’s not real Indian food!”, then the person would change their mind. It was pretty funny (although I suspect you had to be there to think so). I actually managed to order something that he had no objections to first time round. Yay me!

That’s about it, I think. There haven’t really been any happenings around here lately. But tomorrow is the start of my four-day weekend, so hopefully I’ll have something to report after that.

*These appear to be called jumping jacks in American, as I learned a few months ago. When Jillian Michaels instructed us to do jumping jacks for the warm up circuit, I watched her demonstrate for a few seconds then, as realisation dawned, said “OH, star jumps!”. Out loud. To myself. I’d always wondered what a jumping jack was…

11 thoughts on “Happenings

    1. A few years ago there was a big scandal about them. Becasue Germany, has no minimum wage, they get away with paying their employees a ridiculously low wage, and there have also been stories of cashiers not being allowed to go to the toilet because it “wasn’t their scheduled break time”.

      In 2008 they paid a fine of €1.5 million after being caught using video cameras to spy on employees, and a year later they were in the news again after forms that employees had to fill in giving the reason they had been off sick were found dumped in a random public waste bin. I’m pretty sure it’s illegal to even ask employees exactly what illness kept them off work!

      Admittedly I haven’t heard anything bad about them since 2010, but I’m still not shopping there just in case. (This is all Lidl in Germany by the way. Other countries may be ok – and in Britain at least there is a minimum wage so that’s one less thing for them to get away with).

  1. I heard a girl speaking English on the tram the other day and she had the exact same accent as my American friend. I kept looking at her thinking “You sound just like L… but you’re clearly not L!”. <— I bet $$ that I know this person haha

    1. Haha, well if you find out who it is, please tell her I’m not a weirdo and I had no intention of picking her pocket 😉

      I don’t know any Americans in KA any more – well, I have a friend who is half American, but was brought up in Britain so that doesn’t count. Oh, and I know a German who is half American as well. But the last of my fully American friends is now living back in the US.

Leave a comment so I know you stopped by!

