Berlin, Berlin, wir fahren nach Berlin!

The title of a post is something that Germany supporters chanted during the 2006 Football World Cup. For those who don’t remember, in that year, Germany were the hosts of said World Cup, and the final was to be held in Berlin, hence the chant. For non-German speakers, it means “Berlin, Berlin, we’re going to Berlin!” Germany did not, in fact, go to Berlin for the final – they lost to Italy (the eventual champions) and ended up coming third overall after beating Portugal in Stuttgart. There’s your lesson on German culture for the day. 😉

Jan and I are not taking part in a football competition, but we are going to Berlin. Tomorrow. We’re mostly going to see Eddie Izzard (my absolute favourite comedian EVER!), but being in Berlin and not actually seeing anything seemed pretty pointless, so I applied for four days off work and we’ll be in Berlin until Tuesday – returning just in time for the quiz on Tuesday (a week late this month due to Easter). I do have a few posts scheduled for you, but other than that you won’t hear from me until I get back.

Here, have someone else’s photo of the Brandenburg Gate.

germany, Berlin, Brandenburg gate, westside
Berlin, Brandenburg gate, westside (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’ll “speak” to you all when I return. In the meantime, please don’t blog toooo much, or I’ll never catch up 😉

11 thoughts on “Berlin, Berlin, wir fahren nach Berlin!

Leave a comment so I know you stopped by!

