Eddie Izzard: Force Majeure

Over the next few days, I’ll be publishing a series of posts about what I did on Berlin. And naturally the first of these has to be dedicated to the marvellous Eddie Izzard – the main reason we went there and something I’d been wanting to do for at least ten years. And Mr Izzard did not disappoint. The show was exactly as funny as I was expecting. I don’t want to give too much away, but for those who are familiar with his previous tours, Darth Vader makes a return (as does Penne all’arrabbiata – which I’ve just had to look up the spelling for. How many b’s??). Force majeure is, of course, a French word that literally means superior force. In legal terms, however, we speak of an act of God… and so, as you might have expected, religion was a topic – including the fact that Charles I of England was obviously not appointed by God, no matter what he believed, otherwise the whole beheading thing probably wouldn’t have worked out (watching Eddie Izzard do the actions for an axe boinging off somebody’s neck was hilarious!). Other topics include human sacrifice, the simplicity of the English language (spoon, spoons…. none of this gender lark!) and ghost cows wondering round a New York hotel. A slightly surreal sounding mixture, but if you were there I’m sure you would have laughed just as hard as I did!

We weren’t allowed to take photos during the show (obviously), but here’s a rather blurry one of the poster advertising it:

Force Majeure

10 thoughts on “Eddie Izzard: Force Majeure

  1. I’m jealous. I haven’t seen good stand-up comedy in several years. I did get to see Eddie Izzard in Miami Beach a few years ago (Bill Maher, too!), but that almost feels like another lifetime.

Leave a comment so I know you stopped by!

