Time to lose the belly!

For about two months, I’ve been complaining that I’ve out on weight, and for that same amount of time the boyfriend has been telling me that “I’ve been that shape ever since he’s known me. Well… maybe a little thinner, but not much. Not noticeably so…”. Then, last weekend, I put on a dress that I hadn’t worn for almost a year. You know… the last time the weather was actually warm! I immediately noticed that it didn’t fit the same way it used to. There’s a definite bulge in the belly area. I pointed it out to the boyfriend, and this time his response was different. “Oh yeah… that dress didn’t used to do that on you.” At that moment, it became official. Even Jan has noticed that I’ve put on weight! It’s most definitely time for operation lose the belly fat!

Tape measure
Photo credit: Wikipedia

Since I don’t actually have any scales here in Germany (GASP! I know.. terrible, isn’t it?),  I decided I was going to measure the size of my waist instead. After measuring between 2 and 3 times a day for around a week, I’ve discovered that my waist size fluctuates between 79 cm and 82 cm. Whether that’s due to genuine fluctuations (I’m convinced my stomach is flatter beofre breakfast!) or my inability to measure correctly, this still means I have a waist size of around 80cm. The only problem was, that didn’t actually mean anything to me! I know what weight range I’m supposed to stay within the be considered healthy, but waist size? Not a clue! Time to check in with my good friend Google. I entered “waist to height ratio” and found the following:

On the NHS website:
You have a higher risk of health problems if your waist size is:

  • more than 94cm (37 inches), if you’re a man
  • more than 80cm (31.5 inches), if you’re a woman

80cm? Eeeep! That means I’m way up at the top the scale. In fact, depending on which measurements were correct, I may even already be at risk of health problems!

Next, I clicked on a waist to height calculator on shapefit.com.
http://www.shapefit.com/calculators/waist-to-height-ratio-calculator.html

According to that, my ratio is 48.8, which, for women, falls under category 4: Ratio 46 to 49: Healthy and Attractive. Yay, healthy and attractive! But what’s that I see… only 0.2 off the next category… “Ratio 49 to 54: Overweight”. Uh oh!

A second waist to height calculator, this time at a site called Weight Loss Ladder (http://www.weightlossladder.com/waist-to-height-calculator-372/) gave my ratio as 0.49, healthy. But by adding on a mere two centimetres, I can change the result to “overweight”.

fat pig
fat pig (Photo credit: nishwater)

Ironically, most of the people who see me regularly would probably tell you I’m still as skinny as I always was. I’m usually pretty good at dressing to hide the belly bulge, and with it being cold for so long, I’ve been able to disguise it under bulky jumpers for longer than usual. But three websites and my pretty summer dress can’t all be lying… the fat explosion is real, and it’s here. Operation get thin for christening starts now!

9 thoughts on “Time to lose the belly!

  1. I hear ya… my numbers are right around yours. So a bad week throws me into the scary place. I’ve been super lazy the last few days so I’m not doing well with my 30-day thing. It’s just so much easier to watch internet videos!! Gah.

    1. Haha, indeed – everything is oo much easier than working out. And any excuse will do for me not to actually exercise. Train was 10 minutes delayed? Now I have no time to work out… obviously.

  2. I am with you! Now it’s suddenly got warmer (conveniently right after Easter, smack bang in between two weddings and a visit from my dad!) I’m panicking because I can’t wear anything I have. operation Belly is go – we can support/hurl abuse at each other to help this along maybe?!x PS I was so excited to get a postcard – how fab! Are the traffic lights really like that?

    1. Great idea!

      Glad you liked the postcard! Yes, the traffic lights really are like that. They were the old GDR traffic lights and after reunification they were originally meant to be taken down, but the residents protested so they got to keep them in the end. Most of eastern Germany still has them, and you occasionally see one elsewhere as well. For some reason Heidelberg has one.

  3. I’m with you! I’ve noticed that many of my clothes just don’t fit the way they used to , and I’m having to dress to hide my tummy as well. I’ve been trying to lose a bit of weight but I don’t think my half-assed effort is paying off. Like you, I’m going to have to get really serious now!

    1. Half-assed effort is exactly the right description for what I’ve been doing up to now! “Ooh, I walked from work to the train station today, so now I don’t need to work out…”

  4. SAME! And my parents are coming (and with that comes picture taking!!!), I´m doing a exercise DVD every day, not eating as much, watching my salt, and praying. Debating a 2 day juice cleanse actually….AND walking MILES every day. Today was about 5k, yesterday 10. I´m GOING to lose some belly. That´s the first place it goes…no, I lie, first place it goes is my cheeks! So anyone looking at my face can tell I gained a pound or two. THEN my belly.

    1. Good luck! I hope all your walking pays off. I’m trying to eat less and more healthily, but I ruined it all with Burger King on Saturday night. We’d been out and I was STARVING!!

Leave a comment so I know you stopped by!

