I am a versatile blogger!

I received the Versatile Blogger Award from The Diary of Sugar and Spice months (I think it may have been in March. *Ahem*) ago and I think it’s about time I acknowledged it!

versatileblogger

These are the rules:

1. Thank the person who gave you this award. –  Thank youuuu!
2. Link back to the person who nominated you. – Done (look up there^)
3. Select 15 blogs/bloggers that you’ve recently discovered or follow regularly and nominate them for this award. – I think I exhausted my supplier of bloggers last time, but I’ll try
4. Finally, tell the person who nominated you 7 things about yourself. – I’m running out of things to say about myself, but okay…
Here are seven facts about me:

♦ When I was younger, I had red hair. First it was a coppery colour, then it changed to what my parents referred to as “auburn”, although I’ve since found out that auburn is actually much lighter and mine was probably closer to chestnut. It was some shade of reddish-brown anyway. My mum used to say it was the colour of autumn leaves (it was at least 2 different shades of brown with a dark reddish tint and – in summer – blonde streaks). Now my natural colour has changed again and is what my mum refers to as “mousy brown”. So complimentary – thanks mother! It does still have a vague reddish hint to it in the right light, but in reality I’m no longer a redhead *sob*. Ironically, as a child I would have done anything to get rid of my red hair so people would stop calling me “ginger nut”. Now it’s gone, I desperately want it back!

♦ I get sunstroke really easily (long-term readers will know this already). It’s linked to my having the red hair gene – the hair may be gone, but the inability to stand being in the sun for any time at all without a hat and a drink of water is not. Totally unfair!

♦ After seeing a TV program about supertasters a few years ago, I’m convinced I am one. Of the foods that Wikipedia says supertasters are less likely to prefer (namely some alcoholic beverages, Brassica oleracea cultivars – stuff like Brussel Sprouts (YUK) and cabbage –, coffee, grapefruit juice, green tea, soy products and carbonated drinks such as beer and fizzy water), the only ones I will consume are coffee – but only with sugar and lots of milk – and some beers. I also hate Marmite.

♦ I am terrified of cycling on the road, and I mean terrified! When I still lived in the student residence here in Germany, a bunch of us cycled to France. I had to borrow a bike that was technically too big for me and had a broken handbrake – it did have one of those brakes that kick in when you pedal backwards though. Every time I had to stop I automatically pressed the non-functioning handlebar brake! I swear I nearly died at least 3 times. Add to that the fact that I was with Germans who see cycling as a mode of transport and used their bikes every day, while I hadn’t been on one in 5 years! This meant I was stupidly slow and always behind. At one point, I would seriously have got lost in the middle of a French road… I was saved by another girl coming back for me (Jan didn’t even notice I was gone). The next day I physically could not walk my legs were so stiff. This all happened nearly 10 years ago and I’m still traumatised and refuse to go near a bike if it can’t be guaranteed that there will be no cycling near cars. True story!!

Right this way...
Right this way… (Photo credit: incommunicado)

♦ When I was little, I believed Narnia was a real place. I used to try and dream up ways to get there – of course, they never worked

♦ I have three tattoos, one of which I designed myself.

♦ I cannot stand soggy breakfast cereal. On the very rare occasions that I actually eat cereal, I’ll put on the smallest amount of milk possible then eat really fast so the milky bits at the bottom don’t have a chance to go soggy. The only exception to this is Weetabix, which have to be soggy for me to eat them!

That was seven. Apologies if you’ve read any of them before. I’ve lost track of what I’ve already told you…

Now for the nominees:

  1. Elimaus
  2. Ami in Franken
  3. Emma, aka An Idiot on Year Abroad
  4. Books and Other Loves
  5. Skarba
  6. Gina at A 4star Life
  7. Kelly at Maybe Too Blonde
  8. Polly at A Girl and Her Travels
  9. Lady of the Cake
  10. Ari at The Pace of It All

Aaaand that’s it, because I’m afraid if I give it to the same people yet again some of them will come to Germany for the sole purpose of lynching me! 😀

 

11 thoughts on “I am a versatile blogger!

  1. There’s a test you can take to find out if you’re a super taster, it’s just putting a chemically-treated piece of paper on your tongue. Non-tasters don’t taste anything, normal people taste it as a little bitter, and supertasters run out of the room and wash their mouths out (you can order the test here: http://supertaster.com/). I ran out of the room screaming and almost threw up, so if you ever want to get together and have a super tasting party, I’m there.

    Also, I eat cereal by putting a lot of milk in the bowl and then just a tiny bit of cereal. Eat crispy cereal. Repeat until full/I’m out of milk in my bowl. So really, we should just get together to bake and eat cereal like weirdos.

Leave a comment so I know you stopped by!

