The stitches are gone!

I keep wanting to refer to my stitches as threads, because that’s what they’re called in German and it’s what I’ve been saying to friends and colleagues here all week. Come on brain, don’t forget your English!

Well, the stitches are gone. Part of one thread (well, it’s more like wire really) actually fell out in the tram on the way to my appointment. I told the surgeon, and he said “It’s as if it knew!”.

Overlock 1-thread
I much prefer this kind of stitches (Photo: Wikipedia)

The surgeon was most uncommunicative, as he has been pretty much the whole time. Getting information out of him is like getting blood form a stone! I told him about the weird pulling sensation, and he just asked “Is it getting worse?” I said no, and that it also wasn’t painful (which it wasn’t) and he was like “well, should be okay then” and started coming at me with his implements. I then said my colleague had mentioned that she had the same thing and it seemed to get better once the stitches were out, to which he said “well, let’s get them out then!” Impatient much?! The pulling went fairly quickly, but it stung! He could have warned me before he started snipping around in my mouth!

Once it was done, Mr. surgeon said “right, that’s it. We’ll inform your Hausarzt (like a GP) what’s been done. Oh, and come back in three months so we can have another look at the wounds”.  “Umm, can I eat everything again now?” I asked. “Yes, everything’s just as before now. Have a good evening!” Anyone else getting the feeling he wanted me to hurry up and leave? Well, leave I did. Made my appointment for three months time and got out of there.

Three months seemed like kind of a long time, but I googled and apparantly that’s how long it takes for the wounds to be fully healed (although you don’t have to follow the wisdom tooth diet for all that time… thank goodness! After three months, I think I would literally have starved to death!). The Internets say after three weeks repair tissue will have filled the socket – I guess I’ll just have holes in my mouth until then – and in three months new bone will have formed in the socket. And presumably the new bone is what he wants to look at in three months…

Hopefully now swallowing will start to get less annoying!

10 thoughts on “The stitches are gone!

  1. That’s very different to me that your stitches had to be physically removed. Over here, they use dissolving stitches, so as you heal, you get to spit out tiny pieces of plastic thread every now and then, and you don’t have to visit the surgeon again for him or her to take anything out! Oh – and those holes in the gums? They do eventually disappear, but I seem to recall mine lasting a LOT longer than three months!

    1. Ugh, I hope I at least stop feeling them after a few days, because right now I really, really don’t like the sensation! It’s like they’re being sucked inwards or something whenever I swallow :-/

Leave a comment so I know you stopped by!

