Fun with DuoLingo 2

You’re probably all pretty sick of hearing about my wisdom teeth operation now – I know I’m sick of posting about it! But when you’re stuck in the house ill, nothing blogworthy tends to happen… so I thought it was time to share some more odd Duolingo sentences with you. To see my first round, click here.

DuoLingo is a free language learning website. The basic idea is that you sign up and the site has you translate sentences to practice various areas of grammar and vocabulary, starting with basics and moving on through things like food, animals and adjectives. I’ve been collecting the ones that I found particularly strange or amusing, and now I have enough for a whole blog post again. Here they are… enjoy!

  1. Papa Smurf
    Papa Smurf (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

    Der Hund isst den Vogel – The dog eats the bird (Because it wants to be a cat?)

  2. Sie kennt die komplette Feuerwehr – She knows the entire fire brigade (Is she an arsonist… or does she just have a thing for firemen?)
  3. Das sind keine normalen Äpfel! – Those are not normal apples! (I bet Snow White wishes someone had said that to her…)
  4. Eure Kuh ist schön – Your cow is nice (Just making small talk…)
  5. Der Bär trägt Ihre Kleider – The bear is wearing your clothes* (… and now they will never fit you again!)
  6. Ein roter Hund trägt weiße Kleider – A red dog is wearing white clothes (A red dog, you say?)
  7. Ich bin der Bär – I am the bear (And you can talk…)
  8. Der gesamte Kopf ist blau – The entire head is blue (It’s a Smurf!)
  9. Die öffentlichen Toiletten sind normal – The public toilets are normal (Well, that’s a relief…)
  10. Ich danke einer Katze – I thank a cat (It’s only polite, after all…)

That’s all for today. I hope you got some amusement out of them…

*Assuming the bear is female this could also translate as “The bear is wearing her clothes”, but the translation here is the first one that came to my mind and was accepted as correct. *edited to add* As someone pointed out in the comments, it only means “your” if Ihre is capitalised, but when it’s being read out there’s no way to tell whether they mean “ihre” or “Ihre”.
29 thoughts on “Fun with DuoLingo 2

  1. Haha, this is funny indeed! Just a hint: The last one should be “Ich danke einer Katze”. And if you tranlsate no. 5 with “your clothes” it has to be “Ihre Kleider” (with a capitalised i). The way it is written there, it definitely means “her clothes”.

    1. Typo fixed! I had written it down correctly but typed it up wrong…

      Ooh, good point about ihre! When they read out the sentences, you can’t actually tell whether the word is capitalised or not, hence why they accept either “your” or “her”, but the way I’ve written it here it does clearly have to be her…

  2. I’m back! I’m back! I’m back! It’s been ages, but I’m moved, my internet is on, and I will return to blog land imminently (tomorrow morning!) Sorry to hear about your teeth – I have missed so much, so if I’ve missed any massive news fill me in, otherwise I’ll gradually catch up! Love these random translations – reminded me of this…http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x1sQkEfAdfY 😉

      1. Same here. But I need to get back to it, or I’ll forget everything I’ve ever learned. Got another blogger giving me a bit of stick, and that sure helps. He’s so far ahead, though, I’ll never catch him, ever 😉

Leave a comment so I know you stopped by!

