Happy Birthday, Train Station

I mentioned in my neighbourhoods around the world post that Karlsruhe’s main train station is turning 100 this week. And how do you celebrate such a momentous occasion? By lighting it up in pretty colours, of course. What else would you do? ๐Ÿ˜‰ Here are some photos I took this morning:

Red train station Blue train station

Lighting the building up in red and blue isn’t the only thing that’s happening though. The real celebration is this weekend, with live music โ€“ Blues/Jazz on Friday night, three bands on Saturday night, including the one belonging to our quiz master and a “classic brunch” on Sunday with music from the Federal police Orchestra โ€“ and children’s activities, including a puppet show on Saturday. Exciting stuff ๐Ÿ˜‰

6 thoughts on “Happy Birthday, Train Station

  1. Neat! If I’d know there was a big to-do, I would have scheduled a trip to Karlesruhe. It’s on my list of train stations I have to see, for reasons that will be explained in a near-future post. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a comment so I know you stopped by!

