In which I make blue cake…

As some of you wioll know, the British TV series Dr Who celebrated its 50th birthday on Saturday. That day also just happened to be the birthday of one of my friends, and in the invitation to the party he suggested that people might want to wear “a bow tie or something blue that’s bigger on the inside than the outside…”. I’m not sure most people got the reference, but I did. I may not have seen a single episode of Dr Who, ever, but that doesn’t mean I don’t know some things about it. It is embedded in my culture, after all. And I spent half my childhood being afraid I might accidently catch an episode and see the Daleks. Those things are terrifying when you’re six! But I digress…

Some of us started talking about what things we could do for the occasion, and in a moment of what I can only assume was temporary insanity, I volunteered to make a cake… a blue cake! (The cake part alone wouldn’t be insane. I like making cake, but blue cake was a new one!). After a couple of experiments, I finally hit upon a recipe that I liked and that resulted in a reasonably decent shade of blue, so on Saturday morning, the baking commenced…

blue cake

I admit the outside doesn’t look very blue… but it had after all been baked, so what do you expect? And you can see some blue shimmering through the brown.
For the topping and filling, I used vanilla cream cheese frosting, because there is no better icing! If there is a heaven, I’m pretty sure it’s a place where you can eat vanilla cream cheese frosting by the bowlful and not end up feeling sick!

Yum yum!
Yum yum!

Icing done, it was time to decorate. Unfortunately, all my blue food colouring was in the cake, so I had to make do with what limited other supplies I had… Germany is mostly disappointing when it comes to cake decorating equipment! But I did what I could with colourful sugar confetti and stars…

Tardis cake

A little wonky, but at least it’s recognisable! Here, have a close up:

Tardis cake decoration

Clearly that photo was taken before I put the stars on, so I’ve inserted the last two in the wrong order but nobody cares about that, do they?
And just so you can see that it really was blue(ish) inside, here is my cake later that evening…

Blue cake

As for the taste… it was pretty darn good, even if I do say so myself!

26 thoughts on “In which I make blue cake…

  1. cream cheese frosting is my absolute favourite! I recently made an espresso cream cheese frosting to put on a chocolate cake, it was heavenly. Well done with the sprinkles though, very creative!

      1. I love this entire conversataion šŸ˜€

        And Lady of the Cakes is right… the colour of a cake doesn’t matter, it’s what’s in it that counts! (Just like if you thought too much about what curry looks like you probabyl wouldn’t eat it…)

Leave a comment so I know you stopped by!

