Confuzzledom

Just a place for me to gather my thoughts

A Day in My Life – 7 February 2014

32 Comments

I’ve done a few Photo an Hour posts now, but all of them have been on Saturdays. So I decided to take part in Manda from Break the Sky’s Day in the Life linkup again this month… and this time do it on the actual day. That way, you can all get an insight into what I do on a typical day. As it happens, the day of a link up was a Friday, but they’re not really much different to any other week day.
*Note* Unlike with my photo an hour posts, there are large chunks of this day that I didn’t take photos for. I mean, I couldn’t exactly keep whipping the camera out while I was supposed to be working…

Elmo slippers and red pyjamas

Elmo slippers and red pyjamas

After hitting snooze a couple of times, at 6:05 am I’m finally up and on my way to the bathroom. Not even my Elmo slippers can make the earliness of the hour bearable… (supposedly people get used to waking up early after a while, and even wake up stupidly early at weekends when no alarm is set. I’d love to know who these people are, because I’ve certainly never met one!)

Once I’m showered and dressed, it’s time to dry my hair. Then I brush my teeth and get my bag packed for the day. Pictured above, waiting to go in my bag, are breakfast (a yoghurt) and lunch (some instant mashed potato thingy… the height of good nutrition, I know ;-))

Early morning in Karlsruhe

Early morning in Karlsruhe

At 7:20, I say goodbye to the boyfriend (so jealous that he’s still in bed) and head to the train station. The street lights are still on, but at least the sky is showing signs that daytime is just around the corner. Soon, I will actually get to see sunlight on week days!

By 7:40 am, I’m on the train and the sun is rising. It’s pretty much impossible to get decent photos of the sun rise from a moving train (especially with a camera as crappy as mine!), but I tried. The above two are the best of a bad bunch. After taking the sunrise photos, I did what about 90% of the people I commute with do on the morning train… closed my eyes. (In case you’re wondering, the remainder mostly read or get started on the days work. I hope I never, ever have a job where I need to do the latter! Starting work before actually arriving at work is just wrong!)

Apologies for the incredibly crappy photo...

Apologies for the incredibly crappy photo…

For the first time in ages, I managed to get on the bus at my destination (it’s supposed to leave precisely when my train arrives). I got to work at 8:10, and the first thing I did was fetch a spoon so I could eat my yoghurt ;-) After putting in the corrections for a small job that was due in the morning, I spent the rest of the morning working on an urgent translation due that afternoon (a horrible job that I didn’t understand a word of! Thank goodness for terminology.). At around 8:30, a colleague came and asked if anyone would like a tea. We had no Erkältungstee (tea for colds), so I chose one that called itself “Hol dir Kraft” (Rough translation: Get some power) and claims to be “enlivening”. The Germans have a tea for everything…

Feeeed me...

Feeeed me…

At 12:30, it was time for lunch. I ate at my desk so I could read the news (and blogs, of course). I was watched by a hungry looking giant flesh-eating bacteria (photo above especially for Aussa Lorens). After lunch it’s back to work – this time on a longer translation that I started yesterday. The text is IT-related and actually quite interesting. At 2 pm my proofreader sends me the corrections for the horrible translation from the morning and I enter those and prepare the job for delivery before returning to my nice translation for the rest of the afternoon.

Waiting for the train to leave

Waiting for the train to leave

4:45 is home time! Usually I leave at 5, but because I caught the bus this morning I can go a little earlier today. I have plenty of time, so I walk back to the train station and have a browse in one of the shops there. Then I go and stand in my usual position just inside the door of the train. Once everyone is on and the doors have closed, I’ll sit down on the step. There’s no point in even trying to get a seat on the way home… especially not on a Friday evening when all the people who usually take the next train are on mine, making it even more full!

Reusing an Amazon box...

Reusing an Amazon box…

Back in Karlsruhe, I briefly stop off at home to pick up a package I need to send then head to the post office. On the way home, I do a bit of shopping. Usually Saturday is shopping day, but since I’m in town anyway I might as well do it now!

It’s 10 to 8 by the time I get home, so once I’ve unpacked the shopping it’s time to make a start on tea. Not until after I’ve washed the dishes though…

Apologies vegetarainas/vegans for the photo of meat...

Apologies vegetarians/vegans for the photo of meat…

Jan and I have an agreement that I’ll make food for 8:30 pm-ish and if he’s not home and I haven’t heard from him then I’ll eat alone. Usually I make an exception for Fridays since I don’t have to be up as early the next morning, but this time I told him in the morning that I would want an early night and wouldn’t be waiting for him. I’m making a turkey  and chickpea curry (it would have been chicken but the shop had run out) in the hope that the spiciness will cause my cold to do one so I can actually enjoy my weekend! I get a text from Jan just after I’ve started cooking saying he won’t be leaving work for another 45 minutes, so it looks like I’ll definitely be eating alone. While I’m cooking, I intermittently pop into the spare room to do things on the computer… because apparantly I don’t spend enough time staring at a screen at work?!

Yes, I eat from my lap despite the fact that we have TWO tables...

Yes, I eat from my lap despite the fact that we have TWO tables…

Tea time! As expected, Jan is not here so I eat mine alone while reading a book. I’m a multi-tasking genius ;-)

Once I’ve eaten, I decide to put my pyjamas on and head to bed with my book… not how I usually spend a Friday night, but I’m trying to get rid of a cold, remember? I’m still reading in bed when Jan gets home, half an hour later, and fills my hot water bottle for me.
And that’s basically it for my day. Jan went to heat up his food and I continued reading til about midnight, then refilled my water glass, said goodnight to Jan and switched out the light. And now you know exactly how unexciting my life really is… ;-)

The link up is open all month, so feel free to join in on any day in February! You can read Manda’s Day in the Life post here: http://breakthesky.net/2014/02/07/day-life-february-2014/

A Day in the Life: A Linkup by Break the Sky

 

Author: bevchen

No longer twenty-something, but still unmarried and unchildrened, English girl currently living in Germany. I work at a translation company and am slightly obsessed with books and travel. I also cross stitch.

32 thoughts on “A Day in My Life – 7 February 2014

  1. This was fascinating! I might try this as a one-off.

  2. I’ve also got a cold and I’ll be making curry today ;-)

  3. Okay, now I need some Elmo slippers, a flesh-eating bacteria and an owl hot water bottle! :) Love that post!

  4. Im totally doing this! Ive said that before, i know. Maybe tomorrow. And I’m one of those up at 5 even without a job kinda people.

  5. Hi! Dropping in from the link up, and I agree that tucked up with a book is the way to go :) Great post!

  6. Hi! I came across your blog from Manda’s linkup :)

    I have to say that bacteria plushie looks a bit like an octopus. And I love octopi. When I was at university we had these plushie microbes in our co-op bookshop and I bought one that represented “flu” and another representing something else (I don’t really remember). They were oval-shaped, and were less strange than this bacteria one. Even though they were a little cute, they still had the beady eyes. xD

    I don’t have a proper dining table at home so my parents and my brother and I just eat at the kitchen bench haha. I don’t blame you for eating from your lap.

  7. So funny to see the German products that I grew up with. Hope the tea and hot water bottle helped your cold!

  8. Not a bad day! Hope you feel better soon, I think I need to try the curry-cure as I definitely feel a cold coming on as well.

  9. Your cold still not better then? I love your bacteria plushie and your owl hot water bottle – owls are everywhere at the moment! Your food looks really nice – never tried doing anything with chickpea but seems interesting. I’ve been travelling to work by bus and I do the same as you – catch up on some sleep! Well either that or chat to the bus driver.

    • Either the curry or the hot water bottle must have helped… I felt much better yesterday, which is good because we finally managed to actually celebrate our anniversary :-)

      I had never done anything with chickpea until about two years ago. I had a curry night and needed something for the vegetarians, and after looking online I found a recipe for chickpea curry. It was nice, so I decided I needed to use them more often.

  10. Sounds like a long day and long commute, especially if you’re sick. How long do you normally have to commute to and from work? Also, I thought your bacteria was a weird octopus :P

    • My train journey is 20-25 minutes (weirdly, it varies depending which train I take… on the way there is takes 24 minutes and on the way back 22 for some reason?).

      LOL, I’ve never thought of my bacteria as an octopus :-D A few of us at work ordered giant microbes about 3 or 4 years ago. My colleagues has one that looks like a bat! She even named it batman.

  11. Hahaha! I was reading along all into it and then I saw the bacteria photo and had this moment of “AHA! THERE! THERE IT IS!” Love it, thanks for including it for me ;)

  12. That turkey and chickpea curry looks delicious. Mmm. Now I want to make a curry!

    I missed big chunks of my day too, for like you I couldn’t exactly whip out my camera at work! Not that my work day is particularly interesting anyway. Just the typical meetings and working on assignments and sending out lots of emails :P

Leave a comment so I know you stopped by!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 395 other followers