I’m going to England!

Thank you for all the lovely messages on yesterday’s blog post. After speaking to Jan and to my dad, I decided to ask for time off work and book the first flight to England I could. I thought getting time off would be quite difficult because my boss was off on Friday and the other person responsible for approving holiday was working from home… but I messaged the colleague who was at home, he contacted my boss then he got back to me later in the day to say it was fine and we’ll just do the signing of the holiday form when I get back. Jan also arranged with his work to be away next week (although he will be taking his laptop with him and working while we’re over there), so we’re flying to England tomorrow and coming back on Friday. It means I probably won’t make it over for the funeral, but I decided seeing my grandpa while he’s still alive is more important to me.

At times like these, being in another country is hard. I’m so grateful to all the commenters who know what it’s like, and of course to my boyfriend who immediately volunteered to come with me despite how busy he is at the moment. The situation is crap, but I feel loved, which helps.

I won’t actually be able to post while I’m away (my crappy BlackBerry won’t let me on WordPress), so I’ll “speak” to you all when I get back.

p.s. Apologies for the lack of pictures, but honestly… what picture should be used to illustrate a post like this?!

31 thoughts on “I’m going to England!

      1. Wow…
        I really hope you get some quality and memorable time with your Grandad, so sorry to hear what you will be going through. I can only imagine as I had a close experience with this recently… I am not really sure what to say other than my heart goes out to you. Try to let him see you happy if possible and take care.

  1. I don’t know you (though I really enjoy your blog) but I feel sorry for anyone in this position. I hope you make it home in time and that your travels aren’t delayed by the awful weather in England.

  2. Safe travels. You are definitely making the correct decision. We’ve had to make such decisions in my family, and I know that each of us is forever grateful we did. Glad to hear Jan is able to join you, as well.

  3. I am so happy that you are able to fly to England and see your Grandpa! I am thinking of you and I hope you will have safe travels! I know how hard it is to be far away when somebody you love is sick so I know how much this means to you! I am thinking of you and I am sending you all my love!

  4. I’m glad you get to see your grandpa before he passes away. My grandma died unexpectedly and I hadn’t sen her in 5 years before that. It still makes me sad to think about it… But I totally get the part about being far away in another country. Hang in there! xoxo

  5. Sorry to hear about your grandad but I’m sure he will so appreciate your efforts to see him and I hope it helps you emotionally to know you get to spend a little more precious time with him. Thinking of you.

  6. It is always tough living away from family at times like this, even though I live in the UK, I still had an exhausting five hour drive to see my Mum in her final illness. So my thoughts are with you and your family at this time.

  7. Oh no, so sorry to hear it. That is undoubtedly one of the worst situations to be in when in another country. Good that you can at least get back for a little while though. Sending warm fuzzies your way and safe travels!

  8. I’m so sorry to hear all this. My thoughts are with you. When I lost my uncle the year before last, it was so hard to deal with from over here. Taking an emergency Ryanair flight wasn’t so bad but because I wasn’t in with the family all the time, I was the last person to know all the news.
    I’m here if you need someone to talk to xx

Leave a comment so I know you stopped by!

