Back in Germany

We got back to Germany on Friday night.
My grandpa is very ill, but still hanging in there. We were originally told he had days to live, but a week later he’s still alive. My grandma is now sleeping in the hospital and my dad is spending as much time as possible there. Basically, it’s just a waiting game.

Thank you for all the well wishes that everyone has left on the blog. I will get round to replying to all the comments soon! But for now I will simply say you are all amazing.

I’m glad I got to see my grandpa and that he was alter enough to know we were there. I probably won’t make it over for the funeral, but I think seeing him one last time was more important to me. Saying goodbye on Friday was strange though… what do you say to someone when you know for  a fact that you’ll never be seeing them again!? I guess this is where religious people have an advantage…

Normal blogging service will resume as soon as I have anything to say…

16 thoughts on “Back in Germany

  1. I know how hard this is. I am so sorry! I think I spent a week in a hospital when my Grandma was ill. It is so hard to say goodbye to somebody. But I am glad that you were able to visit your Grandpa. I am sure he knows that you were there and that you are thinking of him! I am sending you lots of love and I am thinking of you and your family! ❤

  2. As much as it’s an unpleasant situation, I am glad you got to see your Grandad. Mine has a similar situation where we were told he wouldn’t live past the weekend and he went on to live for 5 years after. I do believe that the doctors are not ALWAYS right and people can pull through and unexpected times. Even if he doesn’t, it is good to think you got to see him and he knows how much you care.

    1. Thanks for the good wishes. Having seen him, I can’t see him lasting long, but they’ve now said he could go up and down like this for weeks. He’s bed-ridden and in pain though, so I hope for his sake it goes quick!

  3. Sorry I’m late with this – have been crazy busy…
    I’m really glad you got to see your grandad. I lost my uncle the year before last and it really sucks being all the way over here because you want to be there as long as possible. I hope you get the chance to go back there when the time comes xx

Leave a comment so I know you stopped by!

