Look Up, Look Down – Signs

This morning, my train was full of people dressed as monsters and snake charmers and ladybirds, all drinking beer and wine at 7:30 a.m. I assume they were all on their way to Cologne for schmutziger Donnerstag (Wikipedia tells me it’s actually schmotziger Donnerstag, but in my region it’s schmutzig!), aka Fat Thursday – not to be confused with Fat Tuesday (Mardi Gras). It’s the last Thursday before lent and part of the Fastnacht/Fasching/Carnival season. I’m not actually sure what schmutziger Donnerstag is for… apart from yet another excuse to wear costumes and get drunk. I would have tried to get some sneaky photos for you, but I fed to the quiet carriage with all the other commuters. The Fasching celebraters all had beer, wine and – most annoyingly – bells! Not what you want to put up with on the way to work. So instead, here’s my entry for the weekly Look Up – Look Down photo challenge with Travel With Intent.

When out and about, I often take photos of interesting signs and random features that I spot high up on the walls of buildings. All of the photos below were taken in Weil der Stadt.

Do you ever find yourself taking photos of random interesting signs? Which of the above is your favourite?

14 thoughts on “Look Up, Look Down – Signs

  1. I have never heard about schmutziger Donnerstag, in the region where I come from it is Fetter Donnerstag or Weiberfasching. Women are allowed to cut off the men’s ties. 🙂 Hellau! Or Koelle Allaf! Or whatever…:) Great pictures!

  2. I love the upper left star one. It reminds me The Nightmare Before Christmas!

    I see fun signs all the time, but don’t think twice of them. I’ll take a snapshot of them next time!

Leave a comment so I know you stopped by!

