Summer 2014 Reading Challenge – an update

I wrote a post the other day about the Summer 2014 Reading Challenge I’m taking part in. That challenge has now started, and I’ve also managed to come up with books to fulfil a few of a categories I was missing. So here are four more books that I plan to read between now and August:

15 points: Read a historical fiction book that does not take place in Europe
I was checking my bookcase for ideas when I came across Snow Flower and the Secret Fan by Lisa See. I really enjoyed that book (although I had completely forgotten about it!) so I took to the Internet to see whether she’d written any other books set in China. She had, and so I shall be reading Peony in Love by Lisa See for this category.

20 points: Read a book that will be/was adapted into a film in 2014
The Internet tells me that A Long Way Down by Nick Hornby is to be released as a film in 2014. I’ve never actually read anything by Nick Hornby, although High Fidelity is one of my all-tike favourite films, so I thought I’d give this one a try. (I was actually torn between this one and The Giver by Lois Lowry, so that one has also been added to my to read list, although maybe not for this summer…)

25 points: Read a book by a blogger
I’m not sure why this didn’t occur to me when I was writing the original list… Hyperbole and a Half has been released as a book! Obvious choice, really.

30 points: Read a pair of books with antonyms in the title
I really want to read The Death of Bees by Lisa O’Donnell for this, so now I’m looking for a book with life in the title. Or birth – actually, birth might be the more accurate antonym. Suggestions?

And that’s it. I still have to wait until the other participants have read some books before I can choose one that somebody else has read for the final category. I haven’t actually started reading any books for this challenge yet, but I’ve ordered four which I hope will be arriving soon! In the meantime, I’m working on finishing the three that I already have on the go. Have I ever mentioned I read a lot? 😉

18 thoughts on “Summer 2014 Reading Challenge – an update

  1. I’ve got my own challenge going… to read books in each one of my languages. And I’ve indeed got four on the got simultaneously. It’s like spinning plates! If you have any recommendations re. good contemporary German authors, do tell, I’m desperate.

    1. I was just saying to Jan last night that I would love to read a book by a German author that ISN’T crime fiction/ thrillers… all the non-crime novels I can find in the bookshop are translated from English. But if you are into thrillers I can recommend Sebastian Fitzek.

      1. I’ll have a think. I usually get German books from my boss, but the last few have been either translations or those “local” Krimis (mostly set in Mannheim because we translate for the publisher).

      2. Like you, I’m not all that keen on Krimis. It’s a German obsession. My American friend back in Germany is now hooked on bloody Schwedenkrimis. So is my mother. It’s like a disease, this!

      3. LOL, my boss always gives me Krimis/thrillers for Christmas, and obviously I always read them (I cab’t NOT read a book I’ve been given…) but itwould be nice to occasionally get something different. I read sooo many different genres in English, then my German reading list is just crime, crime, more crime. I do usually enjoy them but please give me some variety!!

  2. Love the idea of a book challenge, and you’ve got some good choices! Regarding the first post, I’ll say that I thought ‘The Fault in Our Stars’ was a wonderful story but yeah… make sure you have a box of tissues on hand. I made the mistake of starting to read it on the train, which was a bad idea.
    Anything by Nick Hornby is a good idea, and if you haven’t read ‘High Fidelity’ you should probably go directly to the bookshop after work today.
    My sister brought me the ‘Hyperbole and a Half’ book for Christmas, because we were both big fans of the blog, and it’s an absolute riot, definitely read that one. The world needs more tales of the simple dog and the helper dog. 🙂 Happy reading!

Leave a comment so I know you stopped by!

