Friday letters

This has been a bit of an odd week – between the funeral on Monday and a day of planes/running around airports on Tuesday before starting my working week on Wednesday, I’ve spent the last few days a) feeling completely exhausted and b) being completed confused about what day it is! Then this morning I had to come in to work early to do something that I had planned to finish from home last night, except I couldn’t because we got a new modem yesterday and the Internet wasn’t working. Grrr! I can’t wait for things to get back to normal next week (even if that does mean working for five whole days ;-))

Postkasten

Dear grandpa. We had a lovely send off for you on Monday. It was sad (of course), but the things everybody said about you were lovely. I’m so proud to have been your granddaughter. Love you always.

Dear Paris airport lady. I would have thought having to repeat the first few things you said to me in English might have given you a hint that I don’t speak French. Apparantly not though, as you then proceeded to repeat the same thing to me in French three times before eventually repeating it in English in a very pissed off tone. Yes, I can understand that having to repeat yourself is annoying, but in this case you brought it upon yourself!

Dear Internet provider. So, first your technician tells the boyfriend that our Internet will be back up and running within an hour, then your customer support hotline claims it will take 12 hours only for us to still have no working Internet at 6 o’clock this morning. Your 12 hours were up at midnight… get it sorted!

Dear books. I’ve read a lot of you over the past few days. This makes me happy 🙂

Have a great weekend, everyone!
Daily Diaries with Diaries of an Essex Girl

18 thoughts on “Friday letters

  1. Good to hear the funeral went well, or as well as these things can ever be expected to go…

    I guess they meant 12 hours falling within the 9-5 working day, which means it’ll take two days. I hope I’m wrong on this. Ahrgh!

    I share your airport indignation! We can’t all speak every bloody language going, as much as we might want to.

    1. Internet is working now – Jan called again this morning and said “the twelve hours are up!” so they checked and apparantly something was configured wrong…

      The most annoying part about the airport lady was that she’d already spoken to me in English twice, so she obviously knew I didn’t understand. Did she think I had spontaneously learned French in the two minutes since she told me IN ENGLISH to throw away my water?!

  2. I hope that next week will be better for you (it has started under the sign of the Hula Hoop, with Wotsits moving in on the picture midweek.. I’d say it’s looking good). Keep reading, and the internet will come back just when you’ve decided you can do without it. As for the French airport lady, it doesn’t surprise me in the slightest. She was either on linguistic autopilot (ha ha) or she just decided to be a pain in the derrière (I reckon it’s the second option). Have a lovely weekend and have a crisp for me!

    1. Haha, yes with all the crisps the week can only go well (I also have Bourbon Creams – thanks to my dad).

      I think the airport lady was really, really sick of her job and decided to take it out on anyone who couldn’t speak French.

  3. Happy weekend – hopefully next week will only bring good things!

    That also makes me crazy in airports. It’s clear a) I’m foreign and b) I don’t speak the language. Not sure what more you want me to do after I say “[hello in your language] sorry, but I don’t speak ___” Argh!

  4. Glad to hear all went well at the funeral and that your grandpa had a good send off.

    That airport lady sounds annoying! I agree with others – next time throw the water at her – bottle et all!

    Argh we had trouble with internet technicians as well! Telling you they were coming on a certain day then never turning up. As if I haven’t got anything better to do than sit in the house all day for them! But at least you got your internet sorted in the end.

    And yay sounds like you’re off to a good start to your reading challenge!

    Hope next week sees things return to normal for you.

Leave a comment so I know you stopped by!

