Hyperbole and a Half by Allie Brosh

I read this book as part of the 2014 summer reading challenge with Megan at Semi-Charmed Kind of Life. This book was for the category “Read a book written by a blogger” which is worth 25 points.

book5The plot
If you’ve read the Hyperbole and a Half blog, then I don’t need to tell you what the book is about. And if you haven’t read the blog then why not? Have you been living under a rock? 😉 Basically, both the blog and the book feature anecdotes from the author’s life complete with hilarious cartoon-style pictures. The book has some stories that have featured on the blog plus some new ones.

My review
I knew before this book even arrived that it was going to be a good one. I love the blog, so I was fairly confident that I was going to love the book. And I did. Simple blog is my favourite character, and Allie’s post on depression should be a must read for everyone (here’s a link, go read). This book gets ALL THE STARS! (If you don’t get that, go read the blog!) Allie is very, very funny – even when talking about serious topics – and I love her drawings. The only disappointing thing in my opinion was the lack of Alot in the book. The Alot is my absolute favourite blog post by any blogger, ever! Also, some of the later stories weren’t quite as good. But overall, the book is amazingly excellent and definitely gets 5 out of 5 stars from me.

14 thoughts on “Hyperbole and a Half by Allie Brosh

  1. I’ve heard so much about this book – seems that half the people I know on GoodReads have either recently read or want to read. May need to check it out. I don’t check out the blog often, but I do like it… Plus, I need something funny to clear my mind after the last couple of crappy books I read!

  2. I bought this at xmas and haven’t actually finished it – I left if back home for my sister as I think it’d be good for her. I love the two chapters about depression, I think ALL THE PEOPLE should read them.

Leave a comment so I know you stopped by!

