Monty Python Live (Mostly)

Last week, I was flicking through one of the free local “what’s on” magazines when I noticed a photo of the Pythons. I closer look revealed that the finale of the new show, “Monty Python Live (Mostly): One Down, Five to Go” was being broadcast live at a local cinema, just down the road from where I live. I mentioed it to Jan and a couple of friends, and four of us decided to go. So 8 o’clock on Sunday, 20 July saw us sitting in the cinema, popcorn at the ready, watching the pre-show while waiting for the main event to start.

The show included both classic sketches (including the dead parrot and the Lumberjack Song) performed live, digital footage of original sketches starring Graham Chapman, and some new/updated bits. In the media, reviews were mixed. Some have said the older sketches were dated, but personally I didn’t see it like that. Some things just don’t age! Although I did think having the scenery match the old-style furnishings in the old recorded parts was an excellent idea. There were cameos by Mike Myers (terrible! Instead of adding to the sketch, he just started sucking up to the Pythons!) and Eddie Izzard (he did a much better job!). My favourite parts were the new additions to the Penis Song (a verse about how nice it is to “own your own vagina” and one about bottoms), the Galaxy Song (because “Pray that there’s intelligent life somewhere up in space, ’cause there’s bugger all down here on Earth” is my absolute favourite line in any Monty Python song) and the excellently choreographed dance for “Sit On My Face” (too funny!). Of course, it was faaaar from being politically correct, but I wasn’t expecting it to be! Personally, I thought the Pythons were just as funny as ever. Knowing that this would be their last performance made it that bit better, although also bitter sweet. All in all,  I’m very glad I happened to notice that this was being shown in Karlsruhe!

9 thoughts on “Monty Python Live (Mostly)

  1. I was watching it live in Regensburg at exactly the same time. My favorite bits were often when they went off script, or broke up laughing at one another. That’s always fun to see.

  2. I must admit I’ve never really enjoyed the Pythons. Although I do like them as people. Never really enjoyed their sketches.

    But I’m glad you enjoyed it! Of course the old sketches would be “dated” as the media say – they are old after all! Not old but “classic”!

Leave a comment so I know you stopped by!

