Friday letters and links

I didn’t do Friday letters last week because my brother was here and we were very busy exploring the local area. I actually didn’t write a single blog post last week… all the ones that appeared had been scheduled in advance πŸ˜‰ But I’m back to reality now (at least for a few weeks… before I go to Taiwan at the end of month), so letters can be written again.

letters

Dear August. How is it possible that you’re here already? I haven’t even got over my shock that it’s already July yet!

Dear Deutsche Bahn. I’ve said this before, but I think it bears repeating… if I have to put on a coat/cardigan just to travel in your trains, you’ve got the air con up to high! There is no need. Really.

Dear weather. Please make up your mind what you want! Rain, sun, hot, slightly less hot. Which is it?! I’m tired of carrying several layers around with me just in case.

Dear trees. Don’t think I can’t see you turning brown and dropping leaves. Please stop it. It’s still summer! Enough with the autumn shenanigans.

Dear Amazon. Thanks to your recommendations, I now want star-shaped cupcake forms. And also ones shaped like teacups (with little saucers!). Quit making me spend money!

And now have some links.

Some of the items on this list of the funniest things overheard at British universities are truly hilarious.

This test, entitled “Do you actually know English?” has been going round Facebook lately. I got 14 out of 15. Woo hoo!

My colleague sent me this Babbel article about favourite German words. It’s excellent and you should read it.

Alex at Speaking Denglish recently swapped her U.S. driving licence for a German one, and she’s written a great step-by-step guide on how to do it. (I don’t drive, and even if I did I’d have an EU licence, but I’m sure there are others out there who will find her post useful).

And finally, a newspaper article about the Sunderland fans who are raising money in memory of two Newcastle United fans who died when the Malaysia Airlines plane was shot down over Ukraine, proving that some things transcend football rivalries. Well played Mackems, you’re a credit to the North East!

That’s all from me for today. My lunch break is over and I have a tonne of work to get through before home time. Have a great weekend, everyone!

~With this post, I’m linking up to Daily Diaries with Kate at The Lotus Creative~

17 thoughts on “Friday letters and links

  1. I got all the grammar questions on that ‘do you know english’ quiz, but I had to sit and think for a minute about the semi-colons. All three answers sounded very much alike at first.

  2. Woo 15/15. Semi-colon was trick though – also I think the true correct answer of when it is most commonly used is for a winky face πŸ˜‰

  3. Hi, I’m visiting from the link-up!
    It’s my first time in your blog and let me tell you that I loved the way you write “Friday letters” loved the “Dear ____.” part πŸ™‚
    Also, I should learn from you to schedule blog post in advance. Last month I was planning to do this but… I always end up writing the blog post one day before.
    Good luck in your trip to Taiwan at the end of the month and have a great weekend β™₯!

    1. Thank you πŸ™‚ The Friday letters idea originally came from another blog, but she’s stopped doing it now. I hardly ever remember to schedule posts so I’m always really proud when I actually do πŸ˜€

  4. Hi, my first time here. I like how your Friday Letters have a “Dear…” theme. It’s a very creative way of getting across what you’ve been thinking about.
    Hope you have a great time in Taiwan! I’m jealous.

    1. Thank you! I originally got the Friday letters idea from someone else, but she stopped doing it and I carried on.
      I’m looking forward to Taiwan, but I’m a bit nervous about flying for 13 hours by myself (plus a four hour stopover in Dubai).

  5. I can’t believe how quickly this year has gone, summer is almost over and it feels like it’s only just begun! I think this time of year always goes fast but it doesn’t help we had like 8 months of awful, mediocre weather last year and the beginning of this one, so it feels like this is short lived in comparison.

Leave a comment so I know you stopped by!

