Summer Reading Challenge: Month 3

July is over, which means it’s time for my third monthly check in for the 2014 Summer Reading Challenge with Megan over at Semi-Charmed Kinda Life. I’ve read a lot of books this month, but only two for the challenge. Every little helps, though, right? Here are the categories I completed in July:

25 points: Read a book written by a blogger
Hyperbole and a Half by Allie Brosh. I loved this book! But I knew I was going to because I adore the blog and a lot of the stories were from there. I’m still sad that the Alot was missing, though. You can see my full review on this one here.

25 points: Read a biography, autobiography or memoir
Captain James Cook by Richard Hough – 445 pages. Another book that I really enjoyed. Usually I’m slow at reading non-fiction books, even if I find the subject interesting. I have to take them to work with me so I’m forced to read them on the train (it’s that or be bored for the entire commute), but with this one I got through pretty fast. I think it’s because it’s written more in the style of a story about someone’s life, so it’s less dry. I’ve been interested in Captain Cook ever since I went to a museum (somewhere in Yorkshire) about his life and voyages when I was little, and it was nice to find out even more about him and fill in the gaps where I’d forgotten some of things I’d learned when I was 10. If you’re interested in Captain Cook’s voyages, I would certainly recommend this book.

So, that’s another 50 points, meaning I’m now up to 190. I have just one more category to complete – read a book you didn’t finish the first time. I’ve chosen The 13 and a Half Lives of Captain Bluebear and I’ve already got further than I did the first time (Jan and I were reading it together before and we managed the first two chapters… I’ve now read four!). Unfortunately, I can’t take this one too work as it’s too big for my handbag, so I’m having to find time for it at home, in between everything else that needs doing around here! I have all month though, so hopefully I’ll make it. I’d hate to fail the first ever reading challenge I take part in 😉

4 thoughts on “Summer Reading Challenge: Month 3

Leave a comment so I know you stopped by!

