Friday letters and links

Hello there! It’s Friday again, and after today I only have one more week at work before the Christmas holidays. I’m very much looking forward to not having to get up at 6 a.m. for a couple of weeks! We’re visiting Jan’s parents for Christmas then for New Year… well, as of right now we’re doing nothing! Iceland is out because flights were too espensive. Bruges was on the table, but other than me looking up train prices and letting Jan know nothing has been done about it and by now it may be too late to even book somewhere to stay. So we may end up staying in Karlsruhe and having fireworks thrown at us all night. We’ll see… Anyway, Friday letters!

PostkastenDear final Christmas present. Please hurry up and arrive so I can finally finish wrapping stuff!

Dear post office. I think I’m only going to have to visit you one more time this year (unless I end up having . Yippee!

Dear Deutsche Post. I can’t believe stamp prices are going up again in January! I still have some left over from last year when it cost 58 cents to send a letter within Germany… now it’s going up from 60 to 62 cents. It isn’t even that long since said stamps only cost 55 cents! And as for putting the price of an international letter up from 75 to 80 cents… well, I don’t even know what to say to that!

Dear Speyer. We’re coming to visit your Christmas market tomorrow! 🙂

That’s all I can think of this week, so here are some links:

28 thoughts on “Friday letters and links

    1. I love 1st/2nd class stamps! There’s no such thing here. There’s s tamp for letters, a stamp for “big letters” and a stam for “maxi letters”, then the same three categories again for international letters. They seem to put the prices up every year lately! Then they sell “supplement stamps” for like 2p for you to make up the difference of any old stamps you still have lying around.

  1. Stamp prices are just horrendous!! I’ve lost the plot as to how much posting anything is by now. Although I’m always pleasantly surprised when posting parcels.

    Is it bad that for the Welsh words link I actually didn’t know what some of them meant! I can honestly say that I would never say “Araith Y Frenhines” – we’d just say Queen’s Speach with a Welsh accent! I think the reason I didn’t actually know some of the words is because it’s South Wales dialect which is completely different to North Wales dialect.

    Anyway, I’ll stop rambling… enjoy yoru visit to the Christmas Market!!

  2. Is Deutsche Post bleeding money the way the US postal service is? That is why our stamp prices get raised…and I always have to laugh when Americans complain. Right now it costs 49 cents to mail a letter within the US – which, mind you, is 9.1 million sq km large. I pulled up the handy currency converters – the 62 euro cent stamp = 71 US cents. Of course, Germany is a fraction the size – only 357,000 sq km.

    How much does an overseas stamp (say, to North America) cost in Germany today? Here I just paid $1.15 for some stamps for my overseas Christmas cards. Ouch. But that is only 92 Euro cents; I’m betting overseas stamps in Western Europe are quite a bit pricier.

    1. It’s currently 75 cents for a normal-sized letter to anywhere in the world – going up to 80 in January. But for anything that they don’t consider “normal” sized it leaps up to €3.45!

  3. Wow, I haven’t even started Christmas shopping yet haha. I’m a little jealous that you only have one gift left to wrap. And yay for almost being on holidays — I’m a week away as well!

  4. I don’t blame you for looking forward to not having to get up at 6am thats a crazy time to have to get up ! I hope you can find yourself a little getaway and a place to stay 🙂

  5. Oh that sucks that stamp prices are going up! But good for you for being almost done with Christmas shopping. I’m sadly not doing too well on that this year.

    And thanks for featuring my post 🙂 Much appreciated.

Leave a comment so I know you stopped by!

