Last Friday letters in Germany!

This is the last time I will be writing a Friday letters post from Germany… for the foreseeable future anyway. Last night was the first viewing of our flat for potential new tenants, so I spent hours getting it clean and tidy for them. Tomorrow will consist of more of that (apparently I have to do the windows again because “they’re streaky” and I’m also expected to wash the insides of the frames (as in the bits you can only see when the window is open, but they’re inside so I have to wash them?!). I also still need to empty and clean the fridge and we have a whole load of glass jars and bottles that need to be taken away… I actually can’t wait to hand the keys over and get out now! Anyway, letters time…

Mail boxDear Cillit Bang. For ages I refused to buy you because I figured anything that needed to advertise itself as prominently as you do must be overcompensating. After trying pretty much since we moved in to remove the black marks from our shower walls by various means, I finally caved on Wednesday and bought you. It turns out you really are good. So I suppose adverts aren’t always lying liars that lie?

Dear hands. If you can just get through this weekend I promise to give you a break from cleaning for a while.

Dear Germany. After Sunday, the next time I see you I will just be visiting. Thanks for all the great memories!

Dear furniture. I can’t wait to see you again! And especially to sit on the sofa instead of a folding chair.

I hope you all have a great weekend – and with much less cleaning and heavy lifting than mine will involve!

30 thoughts on “Last Friday letters in Germany!

  1. Good luck with the cleaning, having to clean the window frames seems excessive. Having to spend so much time and energy making the place wonderful for someone else’s benefit is one of the worse things about moving I think.

    1. We’ve been told you just have to pay a fee before you move out then they clean it? Most of the places we looked at were cleaned by professionals after the previous tenants moved out.

  2. Now thats just silly how did they even notice the dirt inside the frames ! I already no the move went smoothly because I’m reading the blog posts round the wrong way haha Enjoy your new home and Switzerland 🙂

Leave a comment so I know you stopped by!

