Literary Ladies Summer Book Challenge

Because apparently one summer reading challenge isn’t enough, I’ve decided to sign up for another one! After all, I’ve nearly completed Megan‘s (still need to finish reading Life of Pi, but once that’s done I’m finished!). This one is being run by, among other people, Kristen from See You in A Porridge, which is how I heard of it.

The rules are as follows:

  1. The Literary Ladies book challenge will run from June 21, 2015 until September 21, 2015. Only books read during that time will count.
  2. There are 10 categories to be completed. Once you complete all 10, reading all of the books necessary to satisfy each category, you have won.
  3. You are allowed 2 rereads for this challenge in order to be considered the prizes.
  4. Switching around books from your preliminary list is fine, but you can only use a book once to satisfy one category.
  5. All books must be 200 pages in length. If you are listening to your books, be sure that it complies accordingly.
  6. The first 3 categories are mandatory. But if you do not like one or two of the other 7 categories you can skip it and replace it with one of our book club picks! You can do this twice.

Also, with this one you can win actual prizes! Although I couldn’t care less about those. I just want to read!
Here are the categories, along with my preliminary choices. I’m using this as an opportunity to cross off some more books from the BBC Big Read for my 35 before 35. Book titles link to Goodreads.

  • Read a Young Adult novel.
    Inkheart by Cornelia Funke. I was given it literally years ago so I should probably read it. But it’s so looong, and my copy is German!
  • Read a novel written by a Non-US author.
    The Sea Sisters by Lucy Clarke (British author – I should probably have gone for a Swiss one really but I already have this waiting to be read and I don’t want to buy too many books for this challenge)
  • Read a book recommended by a blogger (or instagrammer / you-tuber / goodreads-er).
    Elizabeth is Missing by Emma Healy, recommended by Amanda from Rhyme and Ribbons.
  • Read a book that has been on your TBR list for a year or more.
    Amity and Sorrow by Peggy Riley – I bought  this one at the beginning of June last year – so just over a year ago – and it’s still sitting on my bookshelf unread!
  • Read a novel with a kickass female character.
    Well, I wanted to read the third book in the Tomorrow series by John Marsden for this but I can’t find a single copy on Amazon Germany that can be delivered to Switzerland so I’ll have to have another think.
  • Read a book that is or will be a movie (or TV show)
    Captain Corelli’s Mandolin by Louis de Bernières.
  • Read a book written by a comedian or celebrity – or even a memoir if neither of those are your jam.
    Umm, maybe Bonkers: My Life in Laughs by Jennifer Saunders. Or I might read Stephen Fry’s novel The Liar – I’ve already read and enjoyed another novel by him. I’ll just have to see what I can get hold of here.
  • Read a novel with a one word title.
    Persuasion by Jane Austen seems to be the only book on my shelf with a one word title that I haven’t read yet.

  • Read a suspenseful book – a mystery, a thriller, a book about revenge!
    I hope I’ll be able to tread The Girl on the Train for this, but it depends whether I can get it cheaply.
  • Read a book about summer, with summer in the title, or in any way related to summer (because this is a Summer challenge after all!)
    I Know What You Did Last Summer by Lois Duncan. Not sure it’s quite what they had in mind for a summer book, but it fits the category 😉

There are no points for the different categories in this challenge. Basically you just read them all in the time given and you’re a winner. Awesome! You can link up here.

16 thoughts on “Literary Ladies Summer Book Challenge

  1. I Know What You Did Last Summer totally counts! I’m always up for a gruesome read (I actually dedicate the final two weeks of October every year to novels that will scare me LOL) so I appreciate that addition, for sure. And also, I love the movie (hello Freddie Prinze!) but I had no idea it was a book. Can’t wait to hear all about it! Thanks for linking up 🙂

  2. How do you find the time? You’ve not got a train journey to read on now. I wonder if you have more hours in your day than me. 🙂 I listened to Jennifer Saunders read her own book on a long car journey (or two) and enjoyed it, although to begin with I found her style (or maybe it was just how she read it) a bit odd. Once I got used to it I enjoyed hearing about what it was like when she first got into the comedy circuit, and then how her life has been going more recently. The only other one I have read is The Girl on the Train which I enjoyed.

    1. I have to go into the office once a month, which is a 2 hour train journey each way. I can easily finish a book in that time. But mostly I read in the evening instead of watching TV or I read in bed.

Leave a comment so I know you stopped by!

