35 Before 35: Progress report 4

Wow, my blogging has been really sporadic recently, hasn’t it? It’s not that I don’t want to blog, I just don’t seem to have anything to talk about. Also if you’re on blogspot (and use the blogspot comments form) I apologise if I haven’t commented on your blog for a while – I am reading but when I try to comment from my work laptop it just disappears into thin air when I press post. I assume it has to do with the (ridiculously high) security settings for the Internet browser…

Anyway, today seemed like a good day to post another progress report for my 35 before 35, seeing as I now have precisely 3 years to complete the challenge (why yes, that was a not-very-well veiled reference to the fact that today is my birthday). I haven’t actually done much towards it recently, what with moving countries and everything, but I can at least cross a few things off. My last progress all the way back in October 2014! You can read it here, if you’re interested. And here’s what I’ve done since then:

Number 9: Make cheesecake

I made a Toblerone cheesecake for my leaving party. It was delicious!

Toblerone cheesecake

Number 15: Read 30 books in German

I had read 17 books in German last time I updated, and now I’m up to a whole 20! I read Die Nacht des Zorns (original French title: L’armée furieuse) by Fred Vargas (thank you to the winter reading challenge for that one!), Liebesfluch by  Beatrix Gurian (also read for the winter reading challenge), MUH! by David Safir (a Christmas present) and Apfelrosenzeit by Anneke Mohn.

Number 21: Read all the books from the BBC Big Read that I hadn’t before starting this challenge

I was up to 9 last time I updated (plus a few I’d started but hadn’t finished). Now I’m on 13, so that’s 4 read for this category, too. I haven’t finished any of the ones I was working on before though. The one’s I’ve read since October are The Picture of Dorian Grey by Oscar Wilde, The Wasp Factory by Iain Banks (for the summer reading challenge), Skeleton Key by Anthony Horowitz and The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruis Zafón (highly recommend by the way – I LOVED this one!)

Number 24. Go to 5 different Christmas markets (other than Karlsruhe and Durlach)

I hadn’t been to any Christmas markets the last time I updated, so this is a new category! In December 2014, I went to the Christmas market at Burg Hohenzollern and the one in Speyer (those are links. Click them.).

Burg Hohenzollern

Number 31. Watch 35 films I’ve never seen before.

I was up to 16 last time, and now I’m on 18. Since October, I’ve watched Birdman (weird!) and Rush (really good).

Number 35: The KVV beer tour (drink a beer in all the breweries local to Karlsruhe that can be reached by tram/S-Bahn)

I did this right before I left Karlsruhe, in April. I’m glad I had it on my list because it was an amazing day out! Read about it here.

Wow, that’s actually quite a lot! It seems I did more than I thought I had – which I suppose is the advantage of leaving 10 months between updates 😉

Bring on the next three years!

25 thoughts on “35 Before 35: Progress report 4

  1. Happy Birthday to you! I’m impressed by your book reading for this challenge (I’m always impressed by your book reading, as you know!). I read Shadow of the Wind, but don’t remember enjoying it much,and might not even have finished it, but I can’t remember what I didn’t like about it annoyingly. The cheesecake looks delicious.

  2. Happy, happy birthday! I hope you can celebrate in style tonight. I always enjoy hearing what you’ve been reading. If you want some recommendations for books in German, let me know – although I tend to read mainly historical fiction. It’s too late for me to do a challenge like this. It would have to be “50 before 50” and I’d only have 3 years to complete it! So therefore, I like living the challenge vicariously through you. Enjoy the day!

  3. Happy Birthday! Hope you got some cake, or attempted that Toblerone thing again… yum!
    And 9 times out of 10, blogspot won’t take my comments either when I try from my WordPress account. Used to be the reverse, which was part of the reason I switched platforms. Obnoxious.

  4. Well Happy Birthday. Belated, I know, but I wish you lots of happy things for the next years of your life 🙂 And all the others!

    That’s a lot of reading you’ve got going on! Good luck with the rest of the goals!

Leave a comment so I know you stopped by!

