Yorkshire Sculpture Park and “Wave”

Months before we had even booked our flights to England, Jan and I had decided to hire a car while we were over there this time – party to give us a bit of freedom from relying on other people/buses, but also so we could go away by ourselves for a few days. This was my first holiday since New Year and I wanted us to have at least some time to ourselves! Much as I love my family, visiting them doesn’t count as a “real” holiday for me. We had discussed a few options for where to go, but when I saw an article about a part of the poppies exhibition from the Tower of London was visiting Yorkshire Sculpture Park and would be there while we were over the decision was instantly made for me. I was disappointed not to get to see the poppies in London so I knew I had to see them in Yorkshire. Luckily Jan agreed – since he’s the driver forcing the issue might have been a bit difficult πŸ˜‰

While we were driving down to Yorkshire, it started raining heavily, as in can barely see through the windscreen heavily! It calmed down a little afer a bit, andΒ  after we stopped at Woolley Edge Services for food and coffee (or chai latte in my case) it had slowed to a mere drizzle. It still made for a rather damp visit to the park, but the gorgeous autumn colours at least partially made up for that. And also being a rainy Monday in October meant it wasn’t as crowded as it might have been πŸ˜‰

As soon as we entered the park, we saw signs for Wave, but there are plenty of other things to see on the way there. Some sculptures were more interesting than others (and some were just downright weird!). Here are a few of my favourites:

I guessed as soon as I saw this next sculpture that it was by Nike de Saint Phalle, even though it’s not her usual style – the colours fit, but her “people” are normally less recognisable for what they are.

Yorkshire Sculpture Park

There’s a country house in the middle of the park, Bretton Hall. Apparently at one point it was used as a college and the latest plan is to turn it into a hotel.

By the way, that metal slab on the right-hand photo is one of the sculptures. Told you some of them were odd!

Finally, we reached the main attraction and let me tell you it was worth the wait!First we went into a little hut where there were copies of poems about WW1 on the wall and a notice board where people could put their tributes to people who had fought or died in the war, plus a giant window to catch your first glimpse of the bridge where the sculpture was dsiplayed, then it was on to the sculpture itself. I may have gone overboard taking photos – this isn’t even all of them!

We walked all the way up to the Longside Gallery (through a field of cows, but no sculptures!) only to find that the current exhibition is very modern-arty and not that interesting. Random sculptures that even I could have made! Then we took the free shuttle bus back down to the main park and had a look at the last remaining sculptures.

Overall, we were there for about 3 and a half hours, including a stop at the end for a cuppa and some cake. If it hadn’t been such a miserable day, we could probably have taken even more time walking around! Parking costs 8 pounds for the entire day but entrance to the park is free, so I think it’s worth it (especially if you have a car full!). There are also buses from Barnsely and Wakefield that stop directly outside the park if paying for parking bothers you.

Even with the rain we had a good time and the poppies definitely met my expectations. The “Wave” sculpture is there until 10th January 2016 if you want to visit it, but otherwise the park is a great place for a day out in the fresh air at any time.

I’m linking this post up to Monday Escapes with Packing My Suitcase and My Travel Monkey. For more information and to join in click the button below.

Packing my Suitcase
27 thoughts on “Yorkshire Sculpture Park and “Wave”

    1. The headless ones are terrifying alright!
      The bridge was a perfect location for the sculpture, and I actually think the terrible weather was almost a good thing as it added to the atmosphere and also made the red stand out more.

  1. I loved the poppies when they were exhibited by the Tower of London. I’m happy to see part of them still can be seen at this park. It seems to be so much different setting from the Tower, but no less beautiful.
    #MondayEscapes

    1. There’s another sculpture at Woodhorn Colliery in Northumberland as well, then they’re both going to be touring apparently, although I haven’t seen any information on where. It’s nice that other audiences get to see them now who missed out when they were in London.

  2. I’ve been wanting to visit the sculpture park for ages, although I haven;t figured out how to swing it yet. I like the idea of having a bunch of sculptures out in the open air, especially ones that don’t particularly fit their surroundings in any way.

    The poppies does fit the surroundings, mind. Or the surroundings for them.

    Great photos!

  3. I am definitely noting this down next time I am in Yorkshire. The sculptures are amazing and I have to admit, I hadn’t realised there was so much there – the poppies remind me of the installation at the Tower of London earlier this year. Shame about the weather (but usual for us!) but at least you got tea and cake πŸ™‚ Thanks for linking up with #MondayEscapes

  4. I really like the octopus :). We were very lucky and saw the poppies at Tower Bridge, in fact we have a couple in our garden but I like the fact that you have managed to get some close ups, something we didn’t manage. Sorry the weather wasn’t all that, hope it improved on the rest of the trip πŸ™‚ x #MondayEscapes.

Leave a comment so I know you stopped by!

