Never forget

While Germans dress in costumes and get drunk starting from 11.11 a.m., the UK and many Commonwealth countries remember those who fought and fell in the first and second world wars, and in every war since then. This post is dedicated to my dad, who fought in the Falklands War, to all his army friends who fought there and elsewhere, and to everyone who has fought for Great Britain in any war, ever. Even those that I thought we should never have been part of (like the second Gulf War).  To those who never came home and to those who did come home but were forever changed. The main remembrance events in the UK were on Sunday (Remembrance Sunday), but today most people will take part in a two minute silence at 11 a.m.

My words are inadequate, so I’ll let someone else do the talking (see photo). Lest we forget.

In Flanders Fields

15 thoughts on “Never forget

  1. They grow not old. As we that are left grow old. Age shall not weary them, nor the years condemn. At the going down of the sun; And in the morning. We shall remember them. Lest we forget.

    Respects to all servicemen and women, past and present, who have served or are currently serving.

    Love from an Australian friend. I tip my hat to our commonwealth comrades and remember their fallen alongside our own.

      1. No, you are not wrong. The situation is Germany is different, isn´t it? Whereas you are mourning/remembering fellow countrymen and ancestors who were fighting against the evil aggressor, the situation is much more difficult, if your ancestors were part of the system of the agressor. That is how I understood Becster´s question, how Germany and Japan do on remembrance day. I never met my German granddads, both of them died as soldiers in WWII. My grandmothers never spoke about them, I never asked. Two men who died for an evil cause. Were they part of the system or just innocent people forced to take part in something they were not convinced of? Or somewhere inbetween? I do not know how to remember them, not even on a personal level.

Leave a comment so I know you stopped by!

